We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“the king is in the canyon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Canyon

Kings Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kings Canyon National Park is named for this large canyon, perfect for hiking.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the king is in the canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

wow what a place, you should probably bring so aspirin as your neck is going to hurt from looking at the sights in so many different directions. winter was a great time to visit very little snow and ever less people around.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    123
    25
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We drove through very briefly and the facilities were still closed for the season, but the scenery was beautiful and the winding road challenging. Uncrowded at the time.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Quiet and Beautiful National Park Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you're looking for an awe-inspiring National Park experience, without the crowds, Kings Canyon is for you. I loved exploring the quiet trails of King's Canyon. The scenery is top notch, offering everthing from canyon views, to meadows and a rushing river. We came upon a mother bear and her cubs as we hiked near Muir rock. It was incredible.

Helpful?
1 Thank FRIENDinPA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing wilderness in November”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

It was really quiet in November when we visited. Hardly any traffic or people. Some roads and attractions were closed but we go to see the main sites. The views were beautiful. We did a lot of walking and the trails are quite well sign posted. Some tips. Take snow chains just in case. We didn't have any but we were lucky the snow wasn't bad. Also buy food and drink before you go in the national park as most places are closed at this time of year. Same goes for petrol.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing! Refreshing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Breathtaking views, clean air, old stunning trees. refreshing waterfalls, great for hiking, kids and all.

When we went, it was May but there were still some snow and it was still cold. So make sure to check the weather.

Great place for hiking with kids. also you can watch deers while driving so be careful. Active bear areas, watch signs. on our way back we stopped at a rest area and lit a fire, ate and used bathrooms.

You can also see America's oldest gas pump. (See photos)

It's a place that you MUST go to. A trip I will never forget.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jansait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Canyon also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing