We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
46
63
39
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
63
39
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages sunset terrace parking lot national park visitor center mini fridge mammoth cave ceiling fan comfortable beds no air conditioning coffee maker two nights room cabin double bed hotel restaurant box fan the main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Woodland cottages. I made the big mistake of not reading TripAdvisor reviews and booking only on website pictures. I was on with no a/c, tv or WiFi. However, I was not ok with 2 bedrooms being separated from the third. My teenage girls had to go outside to go between their and our room. (Young sons in room attached to ours.) Not ok with not having a table to play cards or eat breakfast (and only 2 chairs). Not ok with the rust in bathroom, dust in bedrooms, 3 bird nests and spider webs at front door and roach that walked across our floor. The icing on the cake was the mold in the coffee maker. We were not equipped to camp as this was a stop on a large cross country family vacation. However, I would have rather been in a tent. Our reservations were for two nights but we took our cave tour and checked out.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank 294rebekahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Woodland Cottages of The Lodge at Mammoth Cave. It was a wooden cabin with two bedrooms, each with its own sink, and a shared shower and toilet in the middle. You can close the middle doors between each bedroom if you need privacy. The cabin was wonderful! It does not have a kitchen - just a small coffee maker and mini-fridge. Also, it does not have heating/air conditioning, but the windows all open up with screens and both bedroom had locking screen doors. Plus, there are ceiling fans to keep you cool. In 80-degree, humid weather we were fine (we actually got cold in the middle of the night, but the cabins were stocked with two extra blankets for each bed, so we were fine. Our family brought our two dogs - the Woodland Cottages allow pets for a $9 per pet/per night charge - and no pet deposit. Our dogs had a great time. Please note that the rooms do not have television. Our family had a wonderful time in the woods, surrounded by nature. We highly recommend the Woodland Cottages at Mammoth Cave.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank jenniferkN8290LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Mammoth Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Isn't it great when you can bring your four legged family members with you on vacation? We are so pleased your family could join us and enjoy all that thte Lodge at Mammoth Cave has to offer! With conveniently located guest accommdations as well as on-site diining options, our rustic cabins are the perfect way to enjoy Mammoth Cave National Park. Thank you so much for joining us and we look forward to your next visit! Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

There are 10 cabins associated with the lodge. It does not seem that any money has been spent on maintenance in many years.

It was the most uncomfortable bed that I have (tried) to sleep on in many a year.

The room, however, was very clean.

The positives are location and cheap price.

Would I stay in one of these cabins again. Absolutely not.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jerryf183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Mammoth Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Hello Jerry,
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are disappointed to learn that while you appreciated the cleanliness of your room, you did not find your accommodations comfortable. We strive to provide welcoming and well-priced and guest rooms and we apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. We want each guest to feel at-home in our cabins and guest rooms so that they can start each day ready for new explorations inside Mammoth Cave National Park.
We have shared your concerns with our Management team as part of our continuous review of the best ways in which we can improve the experience of guests just like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

No frills hotel located adjacent to the visitor center at the Mammoth Cave National Park. The room we had was musty and seemed always humid. The room had old decor, but the staff are really nice. The visitor center and hotel area are clean and you can dine in at the same building as well as get toiletries. You also have trail access from the back door! Overall, we had a pleasant experience and would return for the really great trails, caves, and experience and overlook the minor cosmetics of the hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sonixgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Mammoth Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hello and thank you for your recent feedback and visit! We are proud of our staff's committment to quality guest service as well as our variety of accommodations to meet our visitors needs. Conveniently located, the Lodge is just minutes away from Cave Tours, dining and of course, souvenir hunting. We continue to make improvements throughout the Lodge's accommodations and hope that you will join us again next year to check on our our progress! Untill then, we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Not my style overnight facilities. Bathroom was very old.... cold water during shower.. we had WiFi on phones but not on Macbook or Ipad...tv only had 11 channels- no ESPN. Bed was very comfortable. If you like rustic experience, this place is for you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CathyP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Mammoth Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hello and thank you for your feedback! We definiltey like the word "rustic" as we feel it perfectly describes the charming accommodations we offer at the Lodge at Mammoth Cave where we encourage our guests to unplug as much as possible! Although some of our lodging choices offer cable tv and other hotel-like features, we also offer quaint cabins that offer more simple amenities with lots of space, perfect for family getaways surrounded by nature. With a number of options available, we encourage prospective guests to check out our website at mammothcavelodge.com to explore and identify the best lodging choice for their needs.
Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your experience with future Mammoth Cave guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews