We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
29
39
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
39
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature centeryucca valleyjoshua treesflush toiletsrunning watermid weekfire pithiking trailsgreat campsitewest entrancemain partnice hikesmain attractionsclose to townvisitor centerspring breakminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Probably the most accessible campground. Spacious pitches and fell asleep looking up at hundreds of stars. Hosts and very helpful and even when full, the campground wasn't noisy (apart from the coyotes). Took a walk to High View Trail in the morning (1.5 miles) and saw a snake and loads of other wildlife. This hike is fine for kids. Can't recommend the campground highly enough.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 5cruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This campground is NOT located inside Joshua Tree National Park but in the town of Yucca Valley which is 11 miles to the nearest park entrance. You drive through a local neighborhood to reach the park entrance which left me disenchanted. In the distance, I could hear a neighbor's dog barking. Even though my reservation was tent only, I found myself near an RV that had it's generator running. Black Rock accepts reservations where the campsites inside the park do not. The campground is among joshua trees with mountain views but one I would not return to.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AmeliaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I joined my cousins for a night at Black Rock where we enjoyed camping in the National Park. Our spaces 27 and 28 meant that we were near flush toilets, recycling receptacles, a higher elevation than most other campsites, and of course, lots of Joshua trees and open space to the west. The campground was pretty quiet - no sounds of generators or late night Spring Break partiers - which was a huge plus! The full moon - priceless! Potable water was available a few steps away from our campsite. You also have a picnic table and fire ring. Apparently there is an excellent trail that heads south out of the campground that I will explore the next time we're there.

Room Tip: Spaces numbered in the 20s.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is one of the two camping sites that you can reserve ahead of time at Joshua Tree National Park (other one is Indian Cove). We chose Black Rock as it was west of the park and closer to LA, also because it is the only campground with running water and flush toilets! The tradeoff is that it is outside of the park, so about a 20 minute drive to the west entrance, 30 minutes to the Oasis Visitor Center. Since it's outside the park and close to residences, you get cell reception unlike in the park.

We arrived after the Black Rock Nature Center was closed (where you register), but was able to find a map of the campground on the bulletin board and found our site easily. They also post a list of who is at which site on the bulletin board, which helps if you don't have your paperwork with you. Our site was great; perfectly flat area that was nestled by Joshua trees which provided some shade for our tent. Each site has a picnic table, fire pit and good sized parking area.

While the sites are fairly close together as some other reviewers have noted, they are not any closer than at other sites where we have camped. Luckily, we had great neighbors all around who were respectful of the quiet hours. Actually, the loudest thing all evening was the wind! Boy, was it blowing - glad we carefully staked our tent when we set up. The temperature does drop quite a bit with the wind blowing, so be sure to bring a jacket.

Campground was decently maintained. Roads had some bumps, etc., but not exactly unexpected for a camp site. The bathrooms at Black Rock were well maintained and clean; sign showed that it is closed mid-day for daily cleaning.

Overall, a great campsite for folks who are looking for the ease of car camping!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vacationgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

This camping site is a ok option for this area. Reasonable price. $20 a day. The only problem is they only have toilets with no shower on the site. Try to get there early. They close the office at 4. Nice walking trails in the area. Family friendly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ts S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews