We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experienced Joshua trees and a Full Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Rock Campground
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I joined my cousins for a night at Black Rock where we enjoyed camping in the National Park. Our spaces 27 and 28 meant that we were near flush toilets, recycling receptacles, a higher elevation than most other campsites, and of course, lots of Joshua trees and open space to the west. The campground was pretty quiet - no sounds of generators or late night Spring Break partiers - which was a huge plus! The full moon - priceless! Potable water was available a few steps away from our campsite. You also have a picnic table and fire ring. Apparently there is an excellent trail that heads south out of the campground that I will explore the next time we're there.

Room Tip: Spaces numbered in the 20s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geolorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is one of the two camping sites that you can reserve ahead of time at Joshua Tree National Park (other one is Indian Cove). We chose Black Rock as it was west of the park and closer to LA, also because it is the only campground with running water and flush toilets! The tradeoff is that it is outside of the park, so about a 20 minute drive to the west entrance, 30 minutes to the Oasis Visitor Center. Since it's outside the park and close to residences, you get cell reception unlike in the park.

We arrived after the Black Rock Nature Center was closed (where you register), but was able to find a map of the campground on the bulletin board and found our site easily. They also post a list of who is at which site on the bulletin board, which helps if you don't have your paperwork with you. Our site was great; perfectly flat area that was nestled by Joshua trees which provided some shade for our tent. Each site has a picnic table, fire pit and good sized parking area.

While the sites are fairly close together as some other reviewers have noted, they are not any closer than at other sites where we have camped. Luckily, we had great neighbors all around who were respectful of the quiet hours. Actually, the loudest thing all evening was the wind! Boy, was it blowing - glad we carefully staked our tent when we set up. The temperature does drop quite a bit with the wind blowing, so be sure to bring a jacket.

Campground was decently maintained. Roads had some bumps, etc., but not exactly unexpected for a camp site. The bathrooms at Black Rock were well maintained and clean; sign showed that it is closed mid-day for daily cleaning.

Overall, a great campsite for folks who are looking for the ease of car camping!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vacationgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

This camping site is a ok option for this area. Reasonable price. $20 a day. The only problem is they only have toilets with no shower on the site. Try to get there early. They close the office at 4. Nice walking trails in the area. Family friendly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ts S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Looks like this campground is suffering from long term neglect! It's a great location a couple of miles off the main highway and with a great growth of Joshua trees making the vistas iconic and authentic vegetation abound to make it a memorable experience. However the roads are in disrepair with holes and wash outs, the sites are uneven, there is no electric and water at the standpipe provide pathetically low pressure. The dump station has insufficient water supply to flush black water tanks and filling your fresh water tanks takes over 20 minutes. I'd rather pay more than the $20 and have our funds keep the site up to higher standards.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank northernneckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The campground is in a nice spot and you seem to think you are in the backcountry when, in fact, you are a 15 min drive from supermarkets and strip malls. We stayed from a Tuesday to a Thursday and the place had an occupancy of about 30%, which was very nice as the sites are pretty close to one another. The place was very clean and there were animals all around. During the day, we were visited by squirrels, rabbits and birds (who will take a morsel from your table if you leave). During the night, a little unpleasant, by dozens of little mice, who are, for the most part, harmless (but they will get into everything if you don't put it away.
This campground has several nice trails leading into the park but to go to all of the main attractions, you have to drive to the west entrance (30 min away). The rangers at the entrance (mostly senior ladies) were very friendly and helpful.
One note of caution: mornings can be very cold in Feb.; when we woke up, all of our water bottles had a thick layer of ice in them! Bring the right gear for frigid nights and warm days if coming in winter.

Room Tip: Sites towards the back of the grounds are a little more secluded, see map on the Park Service web si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010-Urbi-et-Orbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Campground

Address: 9800 Black Rock Canyon Road, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277-3597
Region: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Joshua Tree National Park
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing