We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
27
31
10
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
31
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night national park watch the sunrise lava glow campground kona drive pants sheets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed staying in the cabin, and the bedding provided was adequate for the temperature, although we did have to shut the window above the bunkbed, as it got a little breezy at night. There was a resident rooster at the time we went, who liked to crow at 4:30am. However, if you were planning to get up early and walk across to the Jagger Museum Overlook to watch the sunrise over Kilauea, it was a very helpful alarm clock.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ElGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We stayed for two nights and the weather was raw and rainy most of the time. They give you very little for bedding and the cabin is small and reminded me of a backyard shed. It was cold and we had trouble keeping warm. They are old cabins and really in need of updating. They were not filthy but could have been cleaner....a new coat of paint inside would help. The rest rooms were OK . The main advantage is being in the park. Other lodging in the park is very expensive and it is a long drive from lodging outside the park. The price was the cheapest lodging in the park but overpriced for what you get. It was more like something you would pay $35 a night for elsewhere.

Room tip: Bring blankets to keep warm at night
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 659edithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Our experience with the cabin was a bit mixed. Getting access to the Volcano Lodge perks was nice (welcome mimosas and morning coffee) - I think you are able to borrow bikes as well, although it was raining for our whole trip and we were only there for one night, so we didn't try that out.

One of the perks is that you are so close to the park that it's easy and accessible to get to the Jaggar Museum, so if you want to go check out the lava at night, it's not that far of a drive.

The cabin itself was nice looking - comfy sheets on all the beds. The sound of the rain on the roof was relaxing to try and sleep to. However, there were several noticeably big spiders around (including up a bit higher). It's one thing to have them outside the cabin, inside is a bit different. My husband and I are campers so we're not strangers to the outdoors, but it was a bit hard to sleep knowing there were some all around (we also had to lay out all our wet, rain-soaked clothes and items to dry, so we were really hoping nothing would crawl in them).

The cabin has an outlet which is awesome for charging your phone or whatever other electronics you might have. The bathroom house seemed to be fairly well maintained.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingRock13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

I selected these cabins because of the location (appeared to be walking distance to the park), and price ($80/nt).

The location is actually the worst aspect (though it's a lovely setting). While you can technically walk to the park (and dodge the $25/car entrance fee), you will only get to explore around the Jaggar Museum, and maybe the steam vents. The best hiking is around Kīlauea. The park itself is huge (over 500 sq miles), and you will need a car to see most of it. My favorite part of the park was driving down Ring of Craters Road, which is 20 miles long - you will need a car for that, unless you plan on hiking 40+ miles round-trip. Once you accept the fact that you should bring a car into the park, the fact that the cabins are "near" the park becomes moot. The town of Volcano is not much further away and actually has restaurants, and competing lodging options.

As far as costs go, the cabins are substantially cheaper than Volcano House, but only slightly cheaper than B&B's in Volcano town. For what you get, the cabin itself is very spartan (but clean); public bathroom/shower (only hand-soap included), minimal power outlets, no TV. However, you are entitled to all the guest-benefits of the Volcano House, which includes, among other things, a free welcome-mimosa and a lovely coffee service in the morning.

The staff in Volcano House are all incredibly nice and helpful too; the quality you expect at a high-end hotel. I checked-in around 10pm when we arrived, and the front desk was still open; late check-ins like these can sometimes be a hassle at B&Bs.

The guests in the other cabins were all good - no issues with people being too loud partying, though there were plenty of booze bottles on display. To be fair, it is a great setting for drinking at the end of the day; there's a firepit, a charcoal grill, and tons of nature and stars all around you. I thought I would see more families here, but it was mostly middle-aged couples.

All-in all, this is a good option if you're on a budget, and the guest-benefits of Volcano House are the best selling point. However, if I return to the area, I would consider spending slightly more money for a B&B in Volcano town instead.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatMcpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The cabins looked nice enough in the pictures. Ours however (number 6) was moldy and stinky, which I found inacceptable for 80 $ per night.
On the pro side: it's close to the park (not in the park, a bit of a drive) and the beds were okay, the check in easy and the staff at volcano house friendly.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sandrrrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews