We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveller rating
460
411
142
66
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
411
142
66
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crater view room second floor cookies national park great view no elevator jagger museum once in a lifetime breakfast buffet dining room rooms are small window table worth the price walls are thin enjoy the view gift shop visitor center
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I am sure that this review is no longer worth much as so much as changed since the eruption has changed the landscape considerably. We walked and visited and appreciated being on the Rim of the Crater. This year, we look at that and say- right there- we were right there!

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank judith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The party is over go home...Sorry to say this is over now.Stayed in the campground last year and would visit the "House" in the mornings and evenings .The view could be excellent at times depending what the Volcano was up to.In fact a small portion of the volcano wall collapsed into the lava lake one year ago and created a huge bit of smoke to rise into the air...a message of things to come...The lava lake is gone now along with all the tourist .The crater is now dormant and has collapsed in on it self and is growing larger and larger some scientist believe their may be a huge explosion there soon. The Jagger lookout-museum is closed now forever I am grateful I was there last year for several months some nights there were just magical...Maybe soon the Leilani estates fissure Number 8 will be the new lookout area.Cinder cone with fresh lava running out overland with a ocean entry point within a mile just might be the new place to go...time will tell....Jagger lookout- Volcano House and the ex military base turned hotel with restaurant are now all closed and the local crazy campground... and bless their overcharging hearts they are all unemployed now and maybe just maybe now just a bit more humble and compassionate ..but now is to late as there are no tourist in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank harveymushman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We are a family of four we stayed one night in a volcano view room on the second floor. The room was comfortable, but it is older and dated. We didn't stay there for the accommodations, it was for the location. The view is stunning! Seeing the glow and bubbles of the lava and volcano at night and in the morning before sunrise was stunning. I highly recommend staying here and enjoying the beauty of nature!

Room Tip: Book early and request a room with a view of the volcano.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Views were great. Hotel is dated. Restaurant is mediocre. That being said, if you're here to experience the volcano, want a room with a view, and want to have a convenient launching point for frequent hikes, you can't beat volcano house.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nello F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The volcano house has its "rules". Our daughter was concerned that there was no doorman to help with the luggage. There are no TV's in the rooms. The desk clerk can be a bit snarky.

HOWEVER

Where else can you look out the window and see a caldera of a volcano? While the restaurant is busy at noon with all the tourists, the evening meal is delightful with more staff than visitors.

If you want 5 star amenities, this is not your place. If you want a unique experience, it is here.

NOTE: Make reservations at the front desk before going in for supper. They do have their rules.

Room Tip: Get a caldera view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senioronabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews