We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The military camp is a great piece of property if you are looking for a place right in the national park and qualify for the stay. We reserved a one bedroom cottage and a 3 bedroom cottage for our family. It was rustic, but nice. The camp store was handy, no more expensive than traveling to Hilo. Our one bedroom studio had a microwave and refrig., the 3 bdrm had full kitchen although the stove did not operate well at all. Beds were not the best in comfort, but ok. Meals in the dining hall are average priced, good food, not fancy. Housekeeping came in daily and took care of the rooms and did an excellent job. We loved being in the park and so close to the visitor center, viewing of the crater and hiking. In late May and early June we had rain each day but clearing later. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank coloradofcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

What could be better than staying right in the middle of one of the great wonders of the Pacific; an active volcano. Accommodations range from the more rustic to quite updated cabins. We have stayed in both. The three bedroom cottage that we had a few years ago had a jetted tub, full kitchen with corian counters, etc. Our most recent two bedroom had a counter, dorm size fridge, coffee maker and microwave. It was more than adequate for the two nights that we spent and for $116 per night, no tax, it was a bargain. The meals at the dining hall are far from gourmet but they are adequate. There are limited dining choices in and around VNP so this one is certainly welcomed. The beds aren't the most comfortable but everything is clean and housekeeping cleans daily. It is wonderful to be at 4000 ft on Hawaii and sleep with the windows open. Be prepared to close them however, it gets quite chilly at night. Lots to see and do in Volcano National Park and KMC is the best place to do it from.

Room Tip: Request a deluxe room/cabin. There is a big difference in accommodations if that is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DawnCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Aloha peeps! I've stayed at KMC a few times over the last few years and things have steadily improved over that time. KMC is essentially a small military base. There's a dining facility, shoppette/corner store, bowling alley and nearly anything else you could ask for.

The cabins have all been remodeled for the most part and they are very comfy. I always enjoy building a fire and relaxing in front of the fireplace in the evening when it starts to get cool.

Halemaumau crater is an amazing site during the day or night and is a short walk from the lodging facilities. There are plenty of mountain bike and hiking trails throughout the area that everyone can enjoy. Definitely check out the thurston lava tube!

Yes it is Hawaii but it gets pretty chilly at KMC. The wind usually blows pretty steady at night so make sure you've got your favorite hoody or jacket.

Also, my favorite part of staying at KMC is the ability to see the Milky Way at night. The view is amazing!

Have fun and enjoy all that KMC has to offer!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nateinusaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff. Great location for the volcano. We were traveling with our 8 & 11 year old and they got tired of the volcano activities fast. We did the 1/2 day tour, which was plenty for them. Then the next day we did the 4 mile hike into the crater. They both dragged at the end since it was very a steep climb.

The rooms were clean but not fancy. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alaskamomma32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

As others have said..... don't include Kilauea Military Camp in your itinerary ... if you are seeking luxury. These are cabins.... not condos and not hotel rooms. They are old and well used and well loved. We always stay in the 2 bedroom front row cabins and they have gorgeous stained glass windows in the bedroom. They are clean ...... but as I said.... well used. But .... you are right on the edge of creation .... and there is nothing more breathtaking than a lava flow.

The national park is amazing.... we love the park .... and we have visited many times. I have walked on black sand beaches that no longer exist. ... walked down streets that are covered now with ten feet of black lava. The entire Big Island is amazing and awesome..... very different than other Hawaiian islands.

Bring sweaters and rain gear... and enjoy all the facets of KMC

Room Tip: Do some research.... read lots of reviews and understand that these are not luxurious. KMC was cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank -Pikake-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.2 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
426 reviews
4.2 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
39.2 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
79.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
38.1 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
41.5 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range: ₹ 3,316 - ₹ 8,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing