We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
from US$ 122.95
More Info
from US$ 182.30
More Info
from US$ 559.00
More Info
from US$ 120.00
More Info
Reviews (7,398)
Filter reviews
7,398 results
Traveller rating
5,804
1,276
261
36
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,804
1,276
261
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jagger museum the big island steam vents active volcano chain of craters road visitor center thurston lava tube volcano house lava flow volcanic activity after dark hiking trails halema'uma'u crater live volcano hour drive once in a lifetime orange glow
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 7,398 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Wow what an experience! At first I wasn't excited about this visit but boy did I change my mind. Great trails to hike, fabulous viewing platform to watch lava lake, informative park rangers, a easy driving road to explore park. It has it all! The big island is raw beauty.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank teds280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Tried to go experience this parj. Everything was closed down still after weeks of no activity. Say they will open next week to coincide with a free day. How about opening as soon as possible?

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank dposalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Think about hiking and seeing the actual creation of where we will someday hike and picnic. Contemplate the sounds of lava hitting the sea, the beauty of creation, birth of land on our planet.
The staff at the Visitors Center were friendly, informative and made my visit informative and exciting.
Go to where the earth is new and the sight will stay with you forever!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

There are few other places on Earth where you can peer down into the caldera of an active volcano. Carefully stroll across the lava fields and watch steam rise from the Pacific as new land is formed. Be aware. There is much unstable "land" and poisonous gas in parts of the Park.
Make certain to heed all posted warnings for your safety as well as that of our national park employees.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank bklyn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

My wife and I did a cruise excursion that included the Volcanoes National Park and it was an amazing day, although a little disappointing that we saw no lava activity (if we had visited one month later that would have been very different!). I understand the national park is closed currently (Sept 2018) so you would need to check with the national park website if planning a visit.

We visited the Kilauea Iki Crater overlook, the Thurston Lava Tube, the Jaggar Museum, Kilauea crater, saw steam vents, etc but was a little disappointing there was no lava activity to see. There is lots to see and do in the National Park, and it will be interesting to see what the park and that part of the island looks like when Kilauea settles again and the park can reopen...it is Mother Nature at her most powerful best...certain a must do attraction when it reopens.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Davidjellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews