We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Clingmans Dome
from US$ 96.00
More Info
Reviews (2,972)
Filter reviews
2,972 results
Traveller rating
2,178
651
120
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,178
651
120
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation tower parking lot half mile highest point steep walk appalachian trail bring a jacket catch your breath parking area worth the climb degrees cooler paved walkway mile hike take your time awesome views the smoky mountains gift shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,972 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The views along this entire hike were great, and the observation tower gives an awesome 360 view of the mountains. We went on April 1, when it just opened (it’s closed until march 31) and the winter top views were great.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank mpgtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

Really tough hike up but would say was worth it. Make sure you have water and good shoes. I would recommend doing.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank venicebibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2021

The trail is almost entirely paved unless you use the smaller shortcuts, and has dozens of beautiful views along the way from the Parking Lot all the way to the summit. Also, i have to say that the Observation Tower is overrated, and that it's not as big as it looks. If it's how it usually is in the smoky mountains, well, smoky, you won't be able to see anything, and on the trail we found that there were views much more beautiful on the trail not on the observation tower. Anyway, I highly recommend this hike!

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank DarioAlbahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Clingmans Dome at Great Smokey Mountains National Park in Forneys Creek is a beautiful portion of the park that has spectacular 360 views of the park. It is cool to experience a cloud move through the mountain top and feel it. This is a popular place that is well worth the crowds and finding ba parking space.

I like the observation tower and all that it has to offer and the different hiking trails available around it.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank EvanGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020

My husband and I went here while visiting for Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We went on a Friday around 11 am and the parking lot was overflowing so we had to park along the side of the road. When we left, the line to get in was much longer. They had restrooms which had a line. The walk up is 0.5 mile and very steep. Spots are along the way to rest. The view was alright - you do see Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg from the dome. I learned after the fact that Clingmans Dome is the highest point in Tennessee at 6,644'. If you're worried about Covid, I don't recommend you come here as only about 20% had masks on and there was no room for social distancing. It got hot walking up, but the dome had a lot of wind which made it much colder once you actually made it.

Date of experience: November 2020
4  Thank The_Wanderer1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews