We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Floating in majestic scenery in Grand Teton NP

Before heading out to WY this summer, Sept. 2018, I researched some activities; among them, a Float... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
sallyanne F
,
Naples
Guide makes it!

Recently taking a 2 week adventure though Yellowstone and Grand Tetons this float trip was the most... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Wayne W
,
Ferndale, Washington
Read all 563 reviews
  
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
510
41
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
510
41
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews float trip bald eagles the river guide travis scenic float his knowledge life jackets grand tetons great trip evening trip great guide highlight of our trip relaxing trip getting wet great sense of humor white water rafting flora and fauna
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before heading out to WY this summer, Sept. 2018, I researched some activities; among them, a Float Ride down the Snake River in Grand Teton NP. We not only wanted to go with Barker-Ewing because of its exc. reputation, but also because we would be within the park itself. We were NOT disappointed! Jed, our guide, was competent and friendly. Also, quite athletic! He detailed the training required to be a guide; not an easy, quick job to obtain, so we felt very secure with him. As we approached some rough water, he called them "bubbly". I think this was quite clever of him so none of us would get nervous. The mountains seem so close to us as we rode down the river.Great photo oppptys! We saw two majestic eagles, at difft. locations. I can only tell you that this relaxing float had to be the highlight of our trip!! So wonderful that this historical river runs free and tourists like us can participate in such a unique, awe inspiring experience!!

Thank sallyanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sallyanne F:

What a wonderful review you have sent for us! We are very grateful and I know that Jed will be very excited to read it. (He's now back in SLC with his family, so I'll forward it to him there.) I'm very pleased to know that the float trip lived up to your expectations and that you persevered in seeking a trip that would be entirely within Grand Teton National Park, a truly "Wild and Scenic" section of the Snake River. Thank you so very much for sending this review for us, and we hope we'll see you again during some future season.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently taking a 2 week adventure though Yellowstone and Grand Tetons this float trip was the most memorable day. The guide took time to know us and share his knowledge and history of the area too. Absolutely a must do.

Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Wayne W:

We're so happy to read your comment that your float trip with us was the most memorable day of your recent vacation! Most of our boatmen have been guiding for us for many years, and their expertise makes a big difference in one's enjoyment of a trip. The beautiful scenery helps, too! Many thanks for your review.

Barbara Barker
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the guide, loved the beautiful mountains and the sky, the eagles were great. Gentle float trip, quite pleasant

Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Susan L:

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments about your float trip with us; we are delighted to know that you enjoyed it and appreciate your review.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A fun and informative river raft ride while enjoying beautiful scenery including several up close views of bald eagles. The river guide was entertaining and kept the entire group engaged.

Thank rogerreuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rogerreuter:

We're very fortunate to have bald eagles nesting along this section of the Snake River, so our float trip guests can see them on nearly every trip. We're also very privileged to be able to float here inside Grand Teton National Park, with the best scenery in Jackson Hole. Thanks for reviewing us.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was not sure what to expect when our Jackson, WY based friends suggested the evening float trip. Turned out to be a majestic, enjoyable 3 hours! Moose and bald eagle sitings, beaver, and other wildlife in the twilight of the sun setting behind the Tetons. Our guide was knowledgeable and share an abundance of information on the wildlife and history of the park. We finished off the evening afterward with dinner at Dornans. Take the evening float, but bring a jacket. It really cools off when the sun sets even in mid-August. But Barker-Ewing was prepared with blankets. Enjoy!

Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, Russ H! It sounds as if you had a memorable evening on the river and we greatly appreciate your review of your experience. I'm especially pleased that you enjoyed seeing the wildlife along the river; they're not always easy to find, but generally the evening float produces the best results.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was fortunate to be able to catch the float trip on the last day of the season for 2018.
The trip was a great way to experience the beauty of the Tetons at a relaxed pace with the added advantage of a very knowledgeable guide. Highly recommended and ask about the Veteran's discount.

Thank BearMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear BearMesa,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your float trip on our last day of the summer. The river was getting very low at that point and it was time to end our season. But it was our privilege to take a veteran on our raft. Thank you for your military service, and thank you for your review!

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In June this year the Snake River was high and fast and filled with obstacles. Our guide was very knowledgeable and extremely adept at guiding us down river while avoiding obstacles. Saw a couple of bald eagles. Enjoyable relaxing trip. Recommend the trip to all.

Thank Otto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Otto F:

Your description of the Snake River this past June is very accurate; we greatly value our wonderful team of guides who know how to handle high water conditions. Glad to know you found the trip too be "relaxing"! Thanks for your review.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family of 5 enjoyed our evening float trip in August, 2018. As is common in late August, the river was low and running slowly. Our guide was very knowledgeable and experienced. He told us about the river and the many changes it has gone through over the years. He pointed out many signs of wildlife. It did take about two hours of floating before we actually SAW the wildlife! In the last hour of our trip, we saw several beavers, two bald eagles, and a moose! The scenery of the Tetons was stunning. We really enjoyed this activity to end our Grand Teton and Yellowstone vacation.

Thank Momto3Cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Momto3Cs,

We agree that the scenery of the Tetons is pretty special, especially from the viewpoint of the river. It sounds as if you had some good wildlife sightings, even if it took awhile. I'm pleased that you found the float trip to be a good way to end your visit to Grand Teton NP, and thank you for your review.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My dad took me on this float trip when I was a kid. We saw a moose and wolves and I never forgot that trip. 30+ years later they are still in business and I took my daughters. This is a nice, relaxing trip with spectacular views of the Tetons. It was perfect for my young photographers, who got some really great pictures.

Thank charlesbZ2801ZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, charlesbZ2801ZY, for coming back to us after 30+ years! Yes, we are still in business, and it's now been 56 years since my late husband Dick Barker started these trips (in 1963). It is always special to us to have returning guests, especially when they are bringing along a new generation.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been on Barker-Ewing Float Trip 6 times. Each time we paid the $800 to reserve a “private” raft and I think that is the way to go. The boatmen/guides have always been VERY knowledgeable and you learn so much on the 2 hour float about all of the amazing things about the Tetons and the valley. There is a bald eagle nest that has been on that part of the Snake River and each summer we see the pair and their babies. We have seen Osprey, Bald Eagles, Moose and all sorts of other wildlife. This past summer there were several places where the river had changed its course during the snow melt and that was fascinating to see as well. I will be back next summer and I will do this again!

Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Stacy S:

I can hardly express my gratitude to such a loyal "floater"! Thank you very much for your excellent review, and for your many trips down the river with us. You've seen enough now to recognize the many changes that can happen on a "Wild and scenic" river in the course of several seasons; and you're familiar with a Bald Eagle family; how wonderful is that? We'll be awaiting your next trip down the river with us with pleasure!!

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews