We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, conducted entirely within the unspoiled natural environment of Grand Teton National Park, provide the best opportunities for viewing wildlife and the Teton Mountains in the Jackson Hole area. This protected section of the Snake River flows swiftly in places and otherwise meanders peacefully through many side channels, affording our guests an unique river experience. Our guides provide interpretation of the natural history of the park and its wildlife with a depth of experience to make every trip special.
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We had originally booked this trip on a Friday, but the weather was poor. The company gladly rebooked us for Sunday. The float was great and we all enjoyed the trip down the Snake River. Our guide was Reynolds Pomeroy and we recommend you get him if possible. Besides being very knowledgable about the history and environmental aspects of the river and the location of the animals, he was very articulate, personable and well spoken as well as very skilled with guiding the boat. He made the trip more enjoyable that it already was.

Thank lizbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Helo, luzbel,

I was surprised and delighted to read your excellent review, as I watch snow coming down here in the Tetons and the season for river floating seems in the distant past. Thank you very much for your enthusiasm. I will pass your comments on to Reynolds and I'm sure they will brighten this dreary day for him, as they have mine!

Barbara Barker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"scenic float trip"
in 54 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 91 reviews
"the river"
in 192 reviews
"guide travis"
in 10 reviews
"evening trip"
in 11 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 20 reviews
"life jackets"
in 8 reviews
"canada geese"
in 5 reviews
"great guide"
in 22 reviews
"great trip"
in 23 reviews
"grand tetons"
in 41 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 14 reviews
"white pelicans"
in 6 reviews
"getting wet"
in 9 reviews
"great sense of humor"
in 5 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 7 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 7 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Highlight of our vacation. I have whitewater rafted in the Appalachian Mountains and this is a trip anyone, young or old, will enjoy. It is non-threatening with no white water. 2 hours. 10 miles. Very beautiful. Great guide.

Thank Eaton_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Eaton_Out,

It's a very nice surprise to have a TA review come in after the season, and we thank you very much for your complementary comments! We are very pleased that you consider the float trip to be a "highlight" of your visit here, and hope you'll be back again sometime in the future.

Barbara Barker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My wife and I joined two other couples on a Barker Ewing scenic float trip on the Snake River on 9/23. Our float started at 8am and was a little cool but the spectacular scenery made any discomfort worth it. We had astounding views of the Tetons and were lucky enough to see creatures and raptors! Our boatman and guide (Mike) was very personable and knowledgeable and provided lots of interesting information on what we were seeing plus his skill made our float very safe, fun, and comfortable. We were able to get lots of great photos. I would highly recommend the trip

Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hi, Robert D:

I remember that the date you took your float trip was quite chilly (that was the date we were celebrating 55 years of Barker-Ewing Float Trips, which my late husband Dick Barker started back in 1963). I'm very glad you enjoyed your trip in spite of the cold weather that morning! Thank you very much for your review.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Ours was a 2 hour trip on Sept 13, a beautiful sunny day, we were fortunate that we avoided the smoke that plagued the area the week before and the cold temps that settled in later on that week. Our guide was Reed who was a great guy with lots of knowledge of the area and a skilled navigator of the river. We were lucky enough to spot a moose feeding on the rivers edge.... quite cool.. The trip is peaceful and tranquil but yet the raft moves right along at a good clip. Great way to see the Tetons and the area.

Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear JI:

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent float trip with Reed. You were lucky to have chosen Sept. 13 for your trip, because we have had many cold, wet, windy days since then. And as you have written, the previous days were quite smoke-filled. And you saw a moose, as well! Thank you for your fine review!

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We took this float trip on Sept 13th and it was incredible! Although we didn't see the larger animals, there was plenty of smaller wild life and the views of the Grand Tetons were breathtaking! Jim was our guide and he was so informative with his knowledge of the area. I highly recommend this trip for any age group!

Thank Judithlray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Judithiray,

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation! Jim has been a long-time guide for us, and he also serves on the Jackson Town Council when he's not on the river.
I know he would have been doing his best too give you a wonderful trip even when the larger wildlife is hiding. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your river experience.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Moose, Grand Teton National Park
 
Moose, Grand Teton National Park
 

Been to Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing