We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Floating the Snake in Grand Teton

My husband and I booked a float trip down the Snake River in GTNP in September, after hearing rave... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Rosie1727
,
Port Angeles, Washington
Floating in majestic scenery in Grand Teton NP

Before heading out to WY this summer, Sept. 2018, I researched some activities; among them, a Float... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
sallyanne F
,
Naples
Read all 564 reviews
  
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
512
41
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
512
41
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic float trip bald eagles the river guide travis evening trip his knowledge grand tetons great trip life jackets great guide highlight of our trip white pelicans getting wet great sense of humor white water rafting flora and fauna spot wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Took a 2 hour float trip down the snake river. Smooth transaction when we bought the tickets, they had 2 spots left for noon the next day. Worked well with our schedule. Guide was extremely informative about the river, the mountains, the terrain and Jackson Wyoming - he was great!!
The river was awesome to float down during early September. Great views of the Tetons and surrounding mountains as well as the river. Comfortable raft and we did not get wet. Yes, a few drops of water did land in the raft from time to time however I was never in fear of my Canon camera getting wet.
All in all a great trip. From pick up (at noon) to drop off at about 2:30ish, we saw a lot in the 10 mile river ride.

2  Thank AAarchivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear AAarchivist,

My late husband and his partner designed our rafts over fifty years ago, and they are still setting the standard for scenic float trips, today! I'm very pleased that you stayed comfortable and dry, and that you enjoyed your float with our guide; you didn't mention his name, but we know that all our boatmen are "great"! Thank you very much for your review.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We reserved our spots a couple of days in advance as this is Sept. and a lot of the crowds are gone. We parked at Moose Junction and was transported by van to Moran Junction to float the Snake River back to our vehicle. Total time was about 2 1/2 hours.
Our guide, Mike was very experienced and knowledgeable and he does all the work. We saw moose, eagles and osprey. You do not get wet on a float. The whole experience was amazing.

Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi, Rhonda L,

We appreciate your review and are happy to know that you enjoyed your float trip with Mike. As you said, he is very experienced and knows where to look for the wildlife! We are greatly pleased that you considered your float with him to be a "highlight". Thank you!

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The float trips at our hotel were booked (Jackson Lake Lodge), so the Concierge recommended 3 alternatives - with Barker-Ewing as #1. The float took about 2 hours, and was relaxing and informative. Michael Inman was our guide, and he's a local guy that's been doing the float trips for 19 years. He had an endless stream of facts about the Snake River, and wildlife. We saw a bald eagle, osprey, beaver dens, and a buck mule deer. While we didn't see a moose, we learned a lot about them - maybe you'll have better luck. Suggestions - early morning or late in the day for the float will give you a better chance of seeing wildlife. They offer AARP and AAA discounts.

1  Thank happydaymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear happydaymike,

We're very pleased to have your recommendation as well as that of Jackson Lake Lodge! Thank you for your excellent review. I'm sorry that Michael wasn't able to find a moose for you, but your suggestions of timing are correct; early or late trips generally provide the best viewing opportunities for wildlife. We hope you'll be back one day, to try again!

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We took a float trip with our tour guide, Neil, and had an amazing time. The company was very well organized and informative. Neil was a great tour guide. He had so much knowledge of the Snake River and the area and wildlife. We saw three bald eagles and some moose on our float. He explained about how rapidly the river changes, even day to day, which I had no idea. I would do this again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend.

Thank Kmgaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Kmgaynes:

We are very grateful to you for your enthusiastic and positive review, and especially pleased to know that you enjoyed floating with Neil. We have long believed that our guides are the ones who make the difference between an "ordinary" river experience and an "amazing" one. Thank you so very much!

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We did the sunset float today with Grant as our guide. He is wonderful, he grew up on the river and is very knowledgeable. I recommend this company!!

Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetontepee, Owner at Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi, Barb H:

Thank you very much for your recommendation! We're very pleased to know you enjoyed your float with Grant, who knows so much about the river environment and the Jackson Hole valley.

Barbara Barker, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews