We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Tovar Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Maswik Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Yavapai Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Reviews (3,152)
    Filter reviews
    3,152 results
    Traveller rating
    1,208
    1,113
    496
    221
    114
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,208
    1,113
    496
    221
    114
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsel tovarthird floordining roompresidential suitegrand canyonhunting lodgesouth rimfred harveyin advancehopi housecocktail loungerooms are smallhistoric lodgesitting areaonce in a lifetimeparking lotnational park
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,047 - 2,052 of 3,152 reviews
    Reviewed 25 April 2012

    This was our third trip to the South Rim, and I was determined to stay at the El Tovar... It is expensive, but there is no better location on the Rim, and to sit out on the rocking chairs on the verandah, just gently rocking and taking in THAT VIEW... is priceless...We had one of the cheapest rooms (down in the basement near the kitchens!) and it was still $250 per night - BUT- it was worth it. The sense of history is amazing. Love the lobby, with all the moose-heads, great dinner in the restaurant. Abysmal wi-fi (dial up and too slow to bother with) and our room was tiny (barely enough room to fit the queen bed) - but a great experience nonetheless.
    Make sure you do a sunrise AND a sunset - the colours are amazing. Oh, and I think the Canyon is at its best in winter - snow just adds to the beauty!!

    Room Tip: Spend the money anyway - its worth it - !!
    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Gotigers80
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2012

    This is a fantastic hotel at the edge of the South Rim. Like most National Park hotels, the rooms are only ok (think small, outdated) -- but the location and the charm are unmatched. We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers outside on the patio. We skipped the dining room as we heard from a local that it was over-priced and the food was only ok. Instead he sent us to the dining room at the Bright Angel Lodge where the food was good (and hearty!) and the prices were half as much.

    We stayed at El Tovar the night before departing on a 7 day camping/hiking/rafting adventure down the Colorado River with O.A.R.S. -- this was a truly spectacular vacation that I can not recommend enough.

    Reservations at El Tovar can be difficult and I booked ours 6+ months in advance. Walking around at the South Rim, we saw most of the other hotels -- and truly, El Tovar is the best place to stay if you have the chance.

    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank WPS-76
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2012

    Located just steps from an amazing view of the Grand Canyon. Room was small, double bed, but we knew that coming in, so no complanint. We felf fortunate just to have obtained a room with just a couple months notice. Very good and varied breakfast at a most reasonable price. Our dinner meal, however, was mediocare, expecially for the price. The quality seemed a little subpar and without much flavor. The service was good as each employee must go through much traing just to reach server status. The appetisers at the bar were also good and the outdoor seating that was avalable with the bar was nice. Yes we would stay there again and enjoy all the property has to offer, but would find another venue for dinner...perhaps a picnic.

    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank gregmon4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 April 2012

    We visiting the Grand Canyon last fall. Since it was probably going to be a one-time trip, we splurged and paid for a suite at El Tovar on the edge of the Grand Canyon. Reservations can be difficult to get here. Forget the online reservation system. You have to call and ask what is available (maybe multiple days). It was worth it. It is historical, so keep that in mind. But the bed was so comfortable, the location unbeatable, and the history a cool plus.

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Christianmom5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 April 2012

    We did not stay here - only had dinner at the restaurant. Had high hopes after making reservations for dinner a month in advance. Good part: the service was impeccable and the appetizers in the bar were fine. Disappointing part: the dinner was mediocre at best - one of our party nailed it by describing it as the kind of food you get at a hotel wedding dinner. Appears to be riding on its reputation and hype not on culinary offerings. Save your money!

    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank lovesocean17
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Xanterra, Manager at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

    Thank you for submitting feedback regarding your dining experience at El Tovar.

    I was somewhat discouraged after reading your comments about El Tovar. We take pride in always delivering superior food and service at this restaurant, and it appears as though we didn't live up to basic expectations with regards to the food during your recent visit. We aim to deliver food that's far superior to the kind you get at a hotel wedding dinner. I will be forwarding your comments to the appropriate team members for their review.

    I hope your recent experience doesn't keep you from returning to the Grand Canyon South Rim and dining at El Tovar. If you do visit us again, please ask for me so I can personally ensure your complete satisfaction.

    David Beckerleg
    Food and Beverage Director
    Grand Canyon South Rim

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews