We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Tovar Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Tovar Hotel
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“El Tovar Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Built in 1905, this is an impressive looking hotel. Inside there is much wood and stone, and it is well maintained, with gift stores, a restaurant and bar lounge. There are no elevators, many stairs, narrow corridors, few bathrooms and no handicapped accessible entrances except one. The staff are attentive and helpful, thankfully, since we were traveling with an elderly relative. They have wheelchairs and allowed us to take one with us in our car while we went to see the sites with her. The room itself was adequate, the bed comfortable and the bathroom quite large. They brought us a rollaway bed that fit in the room while allowing us access to the armoire and bathroom. The armoire was not big enough for all our clothing and although had an ironing board and iron, we didn't use them. The dressers beside the beds were good for small items. We had more than enough towels and toiletries, and water was hot every day in the shower. I would probably stay elsewhere in the future since the hotel was expensive to stay in for several days.

Room Tip: Our room was in full sun and therefore hotter during the day. Ask for a room away from the midday su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    1,000
    433
    186
    96
See reviews for
755
1,474
59
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our third trip to the South Rim, and I was determined to stay at the El Tovar... It is expensive, but there is no better location on the Rim, and to sit out on the rocking chairs on the verandah, just gently rocking and taking in THAT VIEW... is priceless...We had one of the cheapest rooms (down in the basement near the kitchens!) and it was still $250 per night - BUT- it was worth it. The sense of history is amazing. Love the lobby, with all the moose-heads, great dinner in the restaurant. Abysmal wi-fi (dial up and too slow to bother with) and our room was tiny (barely enough room to fit the queen bed) - but a great experience nonetheless.
Make sure you do a sunrise AND a sunset - the colours are amazing. Oh, and I think the Canyon is at its best in winter - snow just adds to the beauty!!

Room Tip: Spend the money anyway - its worth it - !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a fantastic hotel at the edge of the South Rim. Like most National Park hotels, the rooms are only ok (think small, outdated) -- but the location and the charm are unmatched. We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers outside on the patio. We skipped the dining room as we heard from a local that it was over-priced and the food was only ok. Instead he sent us to the dining room at the Bright Angel Lodge where the food was good (and hearty!) and the prices were half as much.

We stayed at El Tovar the night before departing on a 7 day camping/hiking/rafting adventure down the Colorado River with O.A.R.S. -- this was a truly spectacular vacation that I can not recommend enough.

Reservations at El Tovar can be difficult and I booked ours 6+ months in advance. Walking around at the South Rim, we saw most of the other hotels -- and truly, El Tovar is the best place to stay if you have the chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WPS-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Located just steps from an amazing view of the Grand Canyon. Room was small, double bed, but we knew that coming in, so no complanint. We felf fortunate just to have obtained a room with just a couple months notice. Very good and varied breakfast at a most reasonable price. Our dinner meal, however, was mediocare, expecially for the price. The quality seemed a little subpar and without much flavor. The service was good as each employee must go through much traing just to reach server status. The appetisers at the bar were also good and the outdoor seating that was avalable with the bar was nice. Yes we would stay there again and enjoy all the property has to offer, but would find another venue for dinner...perhaps a picnic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregmon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, IN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visiting the Grand Canyon last fall. Since it was probably going to be a one-time trip, we splurged and paid for a suite at El Tovar on the edge of the Grand Canyon. Reservations can be difficult to get here. Forget the online reservation system. You have to call and ask what is available (maybe multiple days). It was worth it. It is historical, so keep that in mind. But the bed was so comfortable, the location unbeatable, and the history a cool plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christianmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.6 km away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
9.8 km away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
9.7 km away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
9.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
9.5 km away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Property: El Tovar Hotel
Address: Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,183 - ₹ 28,431
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing