We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Tovar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Yavapai Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 344
US$ 232
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 215
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 284
US$ 236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 293
US$ 279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 381/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 286
US$ 277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 142
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bright Angel Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thunderbird Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maswik Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,210)
Filter reviews
3,210 results
Traveller rating
1,226
1,133
509
226
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,226
1,133
509
226
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomel tovarthird floorpresidential suitegrand canyonhunting lodgesouth rimfred harveyin advancecocktail loungehopi houserooms are smallhistoric lodgesitting areaparking lotonce in a lifetimenational park
Filter
Updating list...
2,129 - 2,134 of 3,210 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great stay at EL Tovar. This is my 3rd time staying at El Tovar and I will be back. Room 6473 on the 3rd floor was small but the window gets a solid view of The Canyon which was a treat. At checkin, the front desk said only certain suites are guaranteed to have views but room 6473 was great.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwwstudyofmakeupcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The El Tovar is located right on the rim of the canyon. You can't beat the location. However, the hotel itself is average at best. Floors were squeaky and not level. You are paying for location and that's it.

The main restaurant at the hotel is pretty good but make reservations well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM-HTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

So glad I heeded the advice of other travelers who shared that the El Tovar is THE best place to stay in the Grand Canyon. It is right at the South Rim. The hotel is nostalgic and provded a very nice stay. One of the best things--besides the extraordinary location--was David at the Travel/Reservations (not sure exactly what it was called) desk at the hotel. We (my husand and I) had only one full day to spend at the Canyon and David quickly picked up that we were a bit lost at trying to decide the best way of using our day. He suggested certain highlights and mapped them out for us. We followed them to a "T" and had the most wonderful day. What an asset he is to the El Tovar! Because of David, and of course, God's "artwork," we had the most wonderful experience. Thank you, David.

Room Tip: I would guess that the suites with the canyon view would be the best--but difficult to reserve unless you book more than a year ahead.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A well-preserved historic hotel, right on a spectacular part of the Grand Canyon. Building and lobby are fun to walk through and really preserve the old-time tourism experience.

Food in the El Tovar restaurant was very good, and service very pleasant and attentive.

But -- the hotel part was a disappointment. Rooms are nice but small, and many have no or very limited view of the Canyon. Hallway was dark, hard to see the key slot. First-floor hallway is a major tourist thoroughfare, very noisy. Worse, there's no mention that there is no elevator for other floors, just lots of stairs and dim halls. Very difficult for a sister with a foot injury and for an older member of our family. Even in a historic setting, I would have expected better notification that the facility's accessibility was very limited.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJMJonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Manager at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on El Tovar on TripAdvisor. Your comments are critical to assisting us with improving the products and services we offer here at the South Rim.

There have been many changes to El Tovar over the years. When El Tovar opened in 1905 there were 100 guest rooms, a music room, a solarium and two roof-top gardens. Many of the structural changes occurred in the 1950s and 60s. This is when staircases were added to the interior of the building at the north and south side, bathrooms were added to every room (not one per wing), etc.

When the hotel was built, it was designed with a north-to-south direction as they felt guests would get out and enjoy the canyon more, so yes, there are very few rooms with a view of the canyon - especially a panoramic view. Had the hotel been built with an east-to-west orientation, more rooms would have a view.

There are very small rooms and some rooms that are quite large, but every room has a bathroom and the total number of rooms at El Tovar has gone from 100 to 78. Little changes can be done to the hotel now that it is on the National Historic Register. There will never be an elevator, but we do offer bell service and if someone has problems with stairs, we make every effort to get them on the first floor.

Unfortunately, there is no natural light that comes into the hotel hallways. To help correct this, small chandeliers with more lights were added during a 2005 remodel of El Tovar.

There are only two main entrances to the hotel: The front entrance on the drive up circle and the entrance along the rim path on the north side of the building, so the north hallway on the first floor does get a lot of foot traffic.

Thank you again for providing your feedback. I hope your recent experiences do not prevent you from returning to the South Rim and re-experiencing El Tovar, or any of our other in-park lodges.

Mike Harding
Rooms Director
Grand Canyon South Rim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

the people here are very nice! totally go here! I really hope that you come to the grand canyon!

Room Tip: look for a room that has a porch.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews