We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
46
23
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
23
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarrive earlyiceberg lakecamp storeranger stationwait in lineswiftcurrent innwithin walking distanceopen sitesswiftcurrent passgreat parkhuckleberry ice creamdriving aroundbuy tokenstent campersgreat trailswest sidemake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I was there a few years ago, going back this nexr year, from there Alaska...
But it's a great place to visit, and wonderful things to see,.
Will let all know about the trip to Alaska when we get back, will be going in June of 2017

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank tonig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We got there at 5:30AM and were second in line for the day. By the time we woke up from our nap at 7AM when the rangers start coming car-to-car the line was probably 20+ cars deep. Many didn't get in but unsure of exact amount. This was a Tuesday. I would say it's definetely worth it though due to it's proximity to a lot of trails (Swiftcurrent, Grinnel, Ptarmigan, etc). In addition, being first time campers we were grateful for the walkable distance to Swiftcurrent Motor Inn with Nell's to eat when we were too tired after hikes to cook, and the luxuries of the gift shop (ice, snacks, beer, wine, coffee). For first timers, I think it's definetely worth the aggressive competitiveness to get a spot.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We loved Many Glacier Campground. My family of 4 camped there for 6 nights in early August 2016.

Getting a Site
First thing you should know is that half of the ~100 sites are first-come-first-serve. We don't generally plan our vacations months in advance, so using the reservation system really wasn't an option. I couldn't find much help online to explain the system for the unreservable sites, so I'll explain.
Each morning, a line forms outside the campground. Around 7:30 or so, a ranger will go down the line assigning a number for which place you were in line. As the rangers confirm that sites will be vacated that day, they will offer the site(s) to the first people in line, and then keep going down the line. There is a website that the park maintains that tells when each Glacier campground fills up each day.
We showed up at 6:30 AM on a Sunday morning, and were the 12th car in line. Fortunately, 20 or 30 sites were becoming available that day, so when our turn came, the ranger offered a pick between two sites. We picked #4, which was pretty great. There were many trees on both sides, so we didn't feel like we were crammed in with others.

Location
This is one of the best parts of the campground. If you're a hiker, you don't even need to get into your car to do a couple of the best hikes in the park - Grinnell Glacier and Iceburg trail. If you want a shower, these are available a short walk away at the Swiftcurrent Inn. If you don't want to cook dinner over a fire, our family loved the restaurant at Swiftcurrent (Nell's). This is casual dining, but delicious.
The other great thing about Many Glacier is the wildlife. We saw much more in this area than any of the others (St. Mary, Logan's Pass, Bowman Lake).

So, I think this is the best campground in the park, and would highly recommend. Just get up early!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
11  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We tent camped here for 6 nights on the creek. We were close to the toilets and it was nice having the camp store within walking distance. We used the 1st come option as this was a last minute trip. As others have said, one must be here early for a spot! The line varies as to how early one needs to get there. This year there is a new system....more fair. You line up at the entrance (host will be there 6:45 am) and give out available sites. They do try to accommodate people needs. One RV was long and I heard the hosts discuss a good site for them. They will kick out people who try to get a site on their own without queuing up! Be fair to the ones who were in line 1st and wait your turn for a site. We were assigned a site and then waited at Many Glacier Hotel for it to become available. The previous campers took all morning to pack up. They left just before noon which was their privilege. Most seem to leave earlier. We were pretty tired this 1st day with the early drive for the 5:20am que!
The hosts were great at having the campground quiet at 10pm. The toilets were cleaned frequently. Ours had one hook, shelves above the sinks would have been nice. The toilet near the campground entrance had shelves.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WaterviewSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

First time at Many Glacier campground. Only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is because we chose to use the first come first serve camping and it was a little confusing how to get lined up for a spot. There wasn't a sign explaining it so we drove in circles looking for a spot not knowing we were supposed to form a line near the camp ground entrance. We were the first people there (5:30am) but didnt know about the line so we almost missed our opportunity to get a spot. After that, everything else was fantastic. The camp spots are nice with clean bathrooms. There is a store right next to the camp ground so we could get ice and wood if needed. The trail heads to many of the great hikes are right there next to the camp ground. CARRY BEAR SPRAY at all times!!!! We did have a grizzly walk along side the camp ground early on our 3rd day there. We alerted the ranger and they scared the bear off. We did a few of the hikes and loved every single one. Also kayaked in swift current.... so pretty. Also did the rising sun drive..... breath taking beauty through out the park.

Room Tip: Come early (6am, 7am for sure) if you dont have a reservation, get in line at the front gate to the camp ground for a spot.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Heaven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews