We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take time to do this!”

Going-to-the-Sun Road
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular and scenic 52-mile highway through Glacier National Park, which crosses the Continental Divide at Logan Pass in Montana.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Take time to do this!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is a spectacular journey ---- steep with many, many curves. Be sure to stop and take in the sights because you must keep your eyes on the raod if you are driving. At the top there was 2 to 3 feet of snow even tho it was in Late May ---- so be prepared! Wonderfule trip!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank floridatravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,882
    210
    37
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding sights”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The highway to the sun is an adventure in itself. The road is slow to drive on due to being quite narrow, but the views are worth the drive.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank gbjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Must-see”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Every time someone visits in summer, I take them up this road. You cannot beat the spectacular views of glacier-carved peaks and valleys. Most of the time, we catch glimpses of mountain goats. On one occasion, a grizzly crossed the road in front of us. Be prepared for construction stops. Use them to stop, breathe the air, and take in the view.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nwmontanagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
483 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Truely the Crown of the Continent”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We visited Glacier in late August. It was busy, but not overly so. It took us about 7 hours (including hikes) to do all of Going-to-the Sun Road. Had we done all the hikes we had planned, it would have taken several more hours. Honestly, we could have stretched just GTTS into several days (and probably should have). Without stops, we could have done it in about 4.5 hours. There were pockets of construction, but the back-ups were minimal. The road is supposed to be incredibly narrow, and it's true that the drop-offs probably aren't for the faint-of-heart, but it really isn't that bad at all. I wouldn't be keen on driving it in an RV, but our SUV was fine.
I recommend driving the road yourself. The jammers are cool, but they're expensive and you don't have control over stops. Around every bend is a vista that was somehow more breathtaking than the one before and we loved being able to pull over when and where we wanted. No matter how well you plan, you will end up making additional stops that aren't marked in the guide books. We made a number of those stops. When you see a half dozen cars parked along the side of the road, you kind of figure you might be missing something good, so you pull over, too. All of our impromptu stops were excellent, especially one at a little swimming hole. (My husband dove right in; I skipped the 45 degree swim.)
More suggestions: Bring extra camera batteries and memory cards. We needed both. Had the camera on for almost all seven hours. Plan appropriately - bathrooms and/or water are at only a few hiking stops. There are great visitor centers at St. Mary, Logan Pass, and Apgar. They are all different, so it's worth a stop at each. And definitely make sure kids have a chance to do the Junior Ranger program. Lots of fun!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Glacier, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Completely different than any other Park in the world. Not extremely busy!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The beautiful drive up the famous "Going to the sun road" Spectacular
places to explore and hike. Lots of wildlife, hilking and beutiful weather all summer long! View Glaciers. Family fun

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Going-to-the-Sun Road also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Going-to-the-Sun Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing