We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,034)
Filter reviews
1,034 results
Traveller rating
170
294
283
157
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
294
283
157
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnenana riverdinner theatergold rush dining roomcoffee barroyal caribbean cruisemckinley chaletstayed here for two nightstour busfire pitraftingsaloonwildernessmoosesceneryadventurewildlife
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 1,034 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed in the newest building (700s) and the room was very clean with all the extras (large bathroom, separate makeup area, refrigerator, coffee maker, small balcony, etc.) The views on the back of the lodge look over a nice river and a mountain range in the distance. We did, however, run out of hot water both mornings as did all the other guests in our tour. The hotel obviously does not have the hot water capacity for the number of guests that can stay there. Had soup and salad in the on-site restaurant one night and it was ok. Nothing special though. There are a couple of food trucks set up across the highway, otherwise you have to take a shuttle into Glitter Gulch for food and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room in the 700 building. This is the newest building and has air conditioning.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiacB8858JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We booked and paid for a river view cabin several months ago. Mind you at almost over $400 a night we were expecting rustic but decent. This place looks nothing like the photos. It is poorly maintained and badly managed. After travelling all day to get there from Seward, we were lead to a smelly, dark cabin. Our amenities were a bar of soap, some towels and toilet paper. One of the bed lamps was on the floor without a table. Took a shower which leaked all over the bathroom floor. After trying to get someone's attention since no one in charge was there, we were moved to an almost equally poor room but this one had paper cups and small bottles of shampoo.
We questioned how clean the sheets were so slept in our clothes on top of the bed. The service at the restaurant was very poor, food so so and prices not worth the $30 plus a meal. We paid for three nights but left early the next morning to find better accommodations. So we ate the $800 nonfundable as a lesson learned and hope we can save some sucker from making any plans there. Disgusting to say the least.
But we did have a river view !

Room Tip: Don't even consider staying here !
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to voice your concerns about your overall satisfaction with the property. It sounds like there were a number of factors that contributed to a stay that failed to meet your expectations. You spent a lot of money and found our property looked nothing like you thought it would based on photos you saw. You stated the condition, cleanliness, amenities, and our services failed to deliver upon your expectations as well. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We certainly would be interested in having you share the photos with us (or the website you found the photos) so we can ensure we have a current image of the cabins and rooms available. We have many different room types and all should be represented so you know what to expect. With sunlight so readily available in Alaska, some of our lighting may not be as bright as you would expect, and we will take your comments about the lighting into consideration. Odors should be reported by Housekeeping upon inspection, and we can address this in our daily meetings as a reminder. The size of our amenities is standard for the industry, and we hear you are would like us to upgrade the amenities. Any doubt you ever have about the cleanliness of your sheets can be promptly addressed by reaching out to us while you are here, and this is true of the shower leaking as well. All of our sheets are laundered after each guest per industry standard. Permafrost can create shifts in the building's foundation, and as a result we might see some uneven surfaces. Maintenance works to repair these undulations as they are reported. In some cases the wooden door frames can swell as a result of the extreme winter conditions. it sounds, too, like you would like to see a manager's presence in the areas away from the Main Lodge as it would be more convenient, I agree, to reach out to someone directly within the area where your room is located. Again, we apologize we did not meet your expectations and assure you we strive to provide our Alaska dreamers with a pleasant experience when they check Alaska off their bucket list with us. Thanks you again for your comments, and we will use your feedback as a training tool moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This is a very rustic and area appropriate hotel. The restaurant is very good for both dinner and breakfast. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately many of the rooms are in poor locations facing parking lots or backing up on Alaska route 3, a very busy highway. We were assigned there by Celebrity tours as part of the post cruise. In that regard the Princess hotel in the same location was eminently superior to this one. That was also true in Fairbanks

Room Tip: Get a room in building 200,300,400,500 facing the river on the second floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

If you are looking for five star accommodations, this is not the place for you. Rooms were adequate, though friend had a mouse in her room and had to be moved. Moved her only after her second visit to the front desk. Our room faced out on the river. kept our window open all night to hear it rushing by. Coffee in room was good. The hamburger shack was lacking. Expensive burgers on stale buns.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank captmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed at this location while on a group tour arranged through Royal Carribean. The room was very uncomfortable. It was dark and dirty. There were 4 lights above the vanity. One was burned out and the other did not have a bulb in it. There was a 2 inch space under the door to our room. My husband rolled up his sweatshirt and put it in front of the door so no rodents could sneak into our room. The grounds were very nice. We attended the Cabin Night dinner show which was very good but overpriced. Big disappointment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 800 building which they said was just built.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pshoudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews