We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiddlers' Campground
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We arrived 5 days before the season and did not require reservations for the campsite. We had a tent and normal accompaniment of camping equipment. When we pulled in on a Saturday afternoon. We pretty much had the run of choice sites and selected #29. This site has cover to the west with Tamarisk trees and therefore blocks most of the afternoon sun. Temps are still in the mid 90˚s in October....
Their is a flush toilet and water within close walking distance and the F.C. General store was about a 5 minute drive in case we needed supplies. The Campground host, Joe, was real nice seen frequently on his bike (can't miss the Dreads) and let us pay for a 3rd day after we had already paid for 2. (time restrictions for check-in) You can pay at the machine or at the Visitors center - also right around the corner. It is centrally located for visiting sites in DV (as central as you can get -haha) and we also made a trip to Beatty, Nevada for supplies, a hot breakfast, cheap gas and even won $19.00 on a Wheel of Fortune slot machine! Turn Left on US95 from the intersection and go up about a mile past the space station market to Fast Eddies gas. The Casino is is also right there.
If you can swing it, at least plan a trip there to gas up and visit Rhyolite Ghost town on the way back. Being that these places are 30 miles out of the way it paid for it self in the gasoline savings alone - $3.96/gal at the Chevron in Furnace creek VS $2.89/gal in Beatty. The campground was very accommodating and the stars at night were amazing.
Suggested tent sites are 41, 40, 42, 34, 24, 23, 22, 28. 29, 75, 76, 89, 90, 91. I would suspect that in the winter months that you can choose just about anywhere as the sun is not that much of a factor. You can also get a shower/pool pass at the Furnace Creek lodge place for $5. The 49er cafe and saloon also had good food and beverages for reasonable prices. There is also Wi-Fi nearby. Check at the Visitors center.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Mccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2008

My mate and I from Australia went on a road trip across the states last year and this was one of our stops. The campsite was mainly deserted with the temp pushing 48deg c. we had a small cooking fire during the night and to our surprise it lured in a couple of hungry rabbits. We tried shooing them away but they kept coming back, i think they must have been feeling the heat too and wanted some food. Very strange rabbit behavior though. We managed to take a shower by using the boiling cold water tap to fill our drink bottles and pour over ourselves to keep cool. During the night we abandoned the tent and instead slept on the aluminum tables and slept under the stars, magic.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank mdcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

The campground is well-maintained and accomodates both RVs and tents. Some sites are only for tents, and if you plan on tent camping, you definitely want to get one of these tent-only sites because most of them have small trees under which to pitch your tent. This provides a decent amount of shade. Tent campers should be aware that the ground is extremely dry and hard and rather rocky, so they may wish to pack some padding to put under their bedroll. There are quite a few sites geared toward RVs that are just in the middle of barren soil, so there is not much relief from the sun in them. There is an appropriate number of outhouses (divided into male and female) around the campground; they all have sinks, but there are no showers due to the lack of water. Fires are permitted, but on the first night that we were there, staff instructed us to put our fire out due to high winds. If you plan on having a fire, be sure to bring wood, though, as there is none for sale anywhere close by. The campground is in an excellent location in an oasis of sorts, right in the middle of Death Valley National Park. The park headquarters is nearby, as is a small restaurant and saloon. We visited in the spring and enjoyed beautiful weather, but be aware that the temperatures are dangerously high in the summer months.

Stayed: March 2007
22  Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2006

Spent night here two weeks ago - was very basic but very close to good Death Valley visitors centre and we were able to use the pool/ showers for $3. It was pretty spectacular as someone living in London looking at all the stars whilst on my back swimming away at 11pm. At dawn the mad birds woke me up but was lovely seeing sunrise and looking over the hills.

26  Thank Gargykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank riccio-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
13.7 km away
The Inn at Death Valley
The Inn at Death Valley
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,559 reviews
30.3 km away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
318 reviews
40.1 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,840 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fiddlers' Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddlers' Campground

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Death Valley National Park
Number of rooms: 129
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Campground Hotel Death Valley National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing