We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Service in Stunning Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Service in Stunning Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed two nights at Furnace Creek Inn over New Year's. The service was generally excellent, although the staff was a bit confused about logistics and meal availability on New Year's Eve. Death Valley is stunning. Our room was generally comfortable and large. We hope to return in the future, although we would not come again during around New Year's. We found the hotel to be on the expensive side given the room quality, although this reflects the limited lodging choices available in Death Valley.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    2,337
    1,143
    363
    188
See reviews for
1,364
2,741
108
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CaliforniaGingerale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed four nights in the 900 building looking west on the golf course. The room was fantastic, clean and the friendly maids always checked to see if we needed anything. We really enjoyed our stay there. The pool is a must after being out during the day seeing all of the beauty in Death Valley. The food was fantastic at the cafe and we all loved how they prepared the food. Overall our stay there was just awesome!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGingerale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed two nights in a cabin at Furnace Creek Ranch. We just wanted to get away and it was perfect. No frills, just wonderful dark skies at night and very quiet. I slept wonderfully. I took a couple of swims in their warm-spring filled swimming pool. We played a couple of games of tennis on the courts. Check-in and out was fast and easy. Friendly staff at the front desk and in the restaurants and bar. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currently Living in New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Furnace Creek Ranch for 3 nights and it was AWESOME (quote from my 7-year-old). Central to all the places you MUST see ... Zabriskie point, Salt Creek to see pupfish, Badwater, Golden Canyon Interpretive tour and FARABEE jeep rentals to take to Titus Canyon and the Race Track! It was amazing - sunrise and sunset are key to many sites and get out early and swim in Furnace Creek Ranch's pool in the afternoon when it gets c-r-a-z-y hot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracySchraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Basically if you're not camping you don't have much choice other than to stay at this place!
We stayed at the 'Ranch' part of the property as this is cheaper than the 'Inn' part. The cabins were cute - nice sized bed and TV and WiFi. TINY bathrooms though with very loud fans! A/C and ceiling fans so you can keep cool. Our cabin was quiet (we were near the check-in) but we wandered over to the pool one night to find it full of screaming teenagers so can't imagine having a room near the pool would be much fun if you wanted an early night! Places to eat within the park are very limited so we ate at the Wrangler steakhouse both nights. Food was good (if a little expensive) and the wait staff were nice and friendly. Overall a great location but expect to get a Best Western room for Ritz prices!

Room Tip: I'd ask for one away from the pool - it was VERY noisy over there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raelarder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
39.9 km away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
43.9 km away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,353 - ₹ 32,557
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing