We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ranch at Death Valley
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Panamint Springs Resort(Death Valley National Park)
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel(Death Valley Junction)
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel(Death Valley National Park)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,988)
Filter reviews
5,988 results
Traveller rating
1,229
2,621
1,384
494
260
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
2,621
1,384
494
260
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedeath valleyborax museumgeneral storefurnace creekon sitepost officeswimming pooltennis courtsspring fedrocking chairsnational parkair concorkscrew saloonwrangler steakhousepizzapalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,067 - 3,072 of 5,988 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Room was very good motel type room with a refrigerator. Ground floor with patio facing a yard and golf course was particularly nice. Everything clean and efficient. Amenities were well done: decent grounds, pool, courts. Didn't play golf or ride.
Food was pricey in the store compared to the smaller one at Stovepipe Wells, but service was great: access to microwave and condiments to avoid $13 hamburger.
Close to Zabriskie Point, Golden Canyon, Artist's Drive and accessible to Dante's View.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent five nights in Death Valley at all three resorts within the park. Furnace Creek Inn is a completely separate facility than the ranch and they should be separate here. Of the three, this was by far the nicest. The Inn lobby and terraces are lovely and the spring fed swimming pool is divine. We had a terrace room overlooking the garden. The service was very pleasant. I was not impressed with the food at dinner, with the exception of the duck. The breakfasts were quite good. I'd recommend a prickly pear margarita on the terrace as the sun goes down.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biondabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you want to go to Death Valley- and you do because it is spectacular- you don't have many choices due to the remote location. Many people bring campers or tents. That's not us. So the most reasonable alternative is the Furnace Creek Ranch. Except it's not very reasonable. For $224(in March) you get a nice motel room, breakfast not included. You are a captive audience and they certainly take advantage of that. There is an even more expensive inn down the road but our experience is with the ranch. There is a pool and most rooms have small balconies. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, probably worth under $100 in any other venue.
There are several choices of restaurants- all relatively expensive for what you get. We spent $25 on a breakfast that should have cost $10.
But Death Valley is so awesome that we didn't let this spoil our stay. If we were to return, we'd probably stay here again because there is no other good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Furnace Creek Inn for two nights in March. We had a ground floor room overlooking the beautiful gardens and spring-fed pool and ponds, and were just steps away from magnificent patio views of the sunrise and sunset views of the Panamint range and Death Valley. The food was fabulous - especially breakfast. We drove the one-mile to the ranch frequently for great, casual golf, ice cold beer in the saloon and the interesting museum and artifacts relating to Furnace Creek's history as a borax-mining community. Don't miss the drives to Badwater and the sand dunes at Mesquite Flats - awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room so you can sit on the terrace or easily slip out late at night to see the stars.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDBSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

First let me clear up some confusion. The Inn is the "luxury" hotel, and about a mile down the road is the "Resort/Ranch" area. Both run by Xanterra and represented on the website together. We stayed at the Inn, though I reference the other area frequently. Think many reviews are confusing the two hotel/motels, and if you don't understand this difference one could misunderstand. Think of the "Ranch" as "town" and the "Inn" as a hotel 1 mile out of "town".
The Inn is the historic property from the 20's, though much expanded and remodeled. The only dining room is considered "fine dining". While I did not actually see the rooms or cabins or whatever they have at the "Ranch" area, I think we would likely stay in this much less expensive area on next trip. Reasons below.
The Inn is interesting and nice enough, given that you are rather captive, it is a historic property, and remote. That said, rooms and bathrooms are very small, our "view" room did NOT have a balcony (as many reviews say all have balconies) and the view was really one small window viewing just the tops of some palm trees and peekaboo of the valley. Ceiling fan squeaked and AC made noise, but the closet was large and had a small fridge in the room. Overall room nothing to be excited about for sure, but clean and comfortable.
Food was generally good, also. Plan on "fine dining" prices though, and not up to the quality one would expect at these prices elsewhere in Ca, but again, given where you are, all acceptable.
When we return, we will likely try the more casual "resort/ranch" part of Furnace Creek however. After two nights of "fine dining", we were ready to have other choices, so started driving over to try the places at the main "Ranch" part. There is a pizza/bar place, steak house, etc., so you have more choices, not to mention you can walk to dinner. Also, the General Store, Visitor Center, and all facilities are in this area. Yes, only 1 mile, away, so not a huge deal, but since the rooms at the Inn really are not all that great, expensive, and you can go eat at the Inn if you would like to go more upscale one night and stay at the other spot, seems like the better choice. Since we spent all our daytimes out hiking/exploring, really only need a decent bed and multiple food choices when home.
FYI, I would recommend renting the 4WD jeeps, even thought they are expensive. While "they" say you can do Titus Canyon and The Racetrack, etc., with passenger cars, the wear and tear on your vehicle (especially at the Racetrack) isn't worth it, and you may damage your car, get multiple flats and pay hundreds to get towed, or worse. We saw a sedan on the rather flat, if bumpy, Racetrack road that had slid off the gravel road into a ravine, and while no one was hurt, they had to be taken back to "town" by other hikers and then return the next day with a tow truck to tow them back ($$$..AAA won't cover you!), not to mention car damage. Weather was fine that day, too. We talked to a few locals who said "yes, lots of people do it, but I don't"...one person had an SUV and she told me she had just heard too many stories of 3 flat tires on the same car, broken windshields, etc.... so she preferred to not beat up her "main" vehicle on the off-road roads. Titus Canyon, if the weather has been good so the road isn't too rutted, would probably be OK in a car. But remember that in general, if you have a Jeep, you can turn off and go to other places the same day, like Lost Burro Mind off the RaceTrack road, etc. rather than just "making it" to the one destination and be frustrated you can't explore more!
Death Valley was much more interesting and diverse than we expected, we stayed an extra day and kept the rental jeep for an extra day also, and plan to return, so you really can't go wrong as long as you go!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TamaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews