We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end lodging and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“High end lodging and restaurant”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Furnace Creek Inn is the fanciest and most expensive lodging I have ever stayed out. Nonetheless, I felt very comfortable. There are lots of places to sit and enjoy the view of Death Valley or the view of the gorgeous grounds at the Inn. The rooms are small, but well furnished with just the right amount of antiques. The bed was very comfortable. We definitely enjoyed opening the window at night so we could hear the crickets in their oasis. The 82 degree spring fed pool was as beautiful to look at as it was to swim in. It's just so darn expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    2,423
    1,212
    393
    203
See reviews for
1,424
2,866
119
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Room was very good motel type room with a refrigerator. Ground floor with patio facing a yard and golf course was particularly nice. Everything clean and efficient. Amenities were well done: decent grounds, pool, courts. Didn't play golf or ride.
Food was pricey in the store compared to the smaller one at Stovepipe Wells, but service was great: access to microwave and condiments to avoid $13 hamburger.
Close to Zabriskie Point, Golden Canyon, Artist's Drive and accessible to Dante's View.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent five nights in Death Valley at all three resorts within the park. Furnace Creek Inn is a completely separate facility than the ranch and they should be separate here. Of the three, this was by far the nicest. The Inn lobby and terraces are lovely and the spring fed swimming pool is divine. We had a terrace room overlooking the garden. The service was very pleasant. I was not impressed with the food at dinner, with the exception of the duck. The breakfasts were quite good. I'd recommend a prickly pear margarita on the terrace as the sun goes down.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biondabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dorset, Vermont
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you want to go to Death Valley- and you do because it is spectacular- you don't have many choices due to the remote location. Many people bring campers or tents. That's not us. So the most reasonable alternative is the Furnace Creek Ranch. Except it's not very reasonable. For $224(in March) you get a nice motel room, breakfast not included. You are a captive audience and they certainly take advantage of that. There is an even more expensive inn down the road but our experience is with the ranch. There is a pool and most rooms have small balconies. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, probably worth under $100 in any other venue.
There are several choices of restaurants- all relatively expensive for what you get. We spent $25 on a breakfast that should have cost $10.
But Death Valley is so awesome that we didn't let this spoil our stay. If we were to return, we'd probably stay here again because there is no other good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Furnace Creek Inn for two nights in March. We had a ground floor room overlooking the beautiful gardens and spring-fed pool and ponds, and were just steps away from magnificent patio views of the sunrise and sunset views of the Panamint range and Death Valley. The food was fabulous - especially breakfast. We drove the one-mile to the ranch frequently for great, casual golf, ice cold beer in the saloon and the interesting museum and artifacts relating to Furnace Creek's history as a borax-mining community. Don't miss the drives to Badwater and the sand dunes at Mesquite Flats - awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room so you can sit on the terrace or easily slip out late at night to see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
72.6 km away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
15.0 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,248 - ₹ 26,829
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing