We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We wanted to see Death Valley on our trip, but there was very little choice of hotels in the area. Was rather sceptic prior to arrival and this turned out to be justified. Rather expensive for what it is -- in retrospect we should have spent the same money in Las Vegas and gotten a luxury suite.

On the positive side: the hotel has a nice large outdoor pool. We visited in February, and were looking for some sun and warmth (after having visited Grand Canyon, which was on the chilly side) - which we certainly got in Death Valley. Also, saw a coyote just outside our doorstep. That's about it I think.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, General Manager at Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to express your opinions regarding the Ranch at Furnace Creek on TripAdvisor. We routinely monitor both positive and negative comments to facilitate our efforts of providing outstanding guest services.

We recognize that our prices for accommodations are in some cases higher than what you might pay for similar accommodations located in metropolitan destinations. Las Vegas, for example, is able to provide high-end accommodations at low prices in part due to the gaming revenue the resorts receive from their guests. When guests stay in the park at one of our facilities, they are paying a higher rate mostly because of the added convenience of being inside the park, and the lack of supplemental income properties outside National Parks are able to receive.

I hope your last experience doesn't prevent you from returning to Furnace Creek and experiencing our usually high standards of in-park lodging. If you do return, please ask for me so I can personally ensure that you are satisfied with your accommodations.

Rich Jones
General Manager
Furnace Creek Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    2,424
    1,212
    393
    203
See reviews for
1,424
2,867
119
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our experience with the Xanterra operated facilities in the Grand Canyon is so awful that we expected the same at Furnace Creek. We were pleasantly surprised. At the same time as Xanterra does the low and middle end horribly, they do the high end quite well.

The Furnace Creek Inn is a tad expensive but no more so than a high end resort in a place like Laguna Beach. The rooms are really nice and worked really well for our stay which was to do long hikes each day and then clean up for an elegant dinner. We had a great shower, a large walk in closet for our gear, and comfortable beds.

The service overall is great. The food is very good in the dining room.

And the grounds are an amazing contrast to the stark environment that is Death Valley.

We had a couple of lunches at the Furnace Creek Ranch places (saloon and diner) and both were good.

To save money I would recommend the Ranch but it is worth a trip up the hill to the Inn for dinner. If money is not an issue, then the Inn is the place to be.

The Inn price included free golf. If we had done that, it would have been a very middle-range price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The pictures they show online are the only 3 nice pictures they have. The rest of the resort is hardly to par. I camped nearby and paid to use their showering facilities at a pretty hefty price. It was around $6.00. I paid for and received my shower ticket. They had a sign that said "no refunds". Which is understandable, after all how can you refund a shower? I left back to my camp to gather my clothes, when I huge storm came up and started blowing away our tents so I had to stay back. This was just prior to the showers closing, so the storm delayed me long enough that the showers has already closed. The next morning I went back to try to take a shower and they told me that ticket I had was only good for yesterday and I need to buy another ticket. I tried explaining my predicament and they didn't care. In fact, they are were very matter-of-fact about the whole situation and didn't even try to negotiate a discount or anything. I had to pay $12.00 for one shower and poor customer service to boot. And the grounds look like they are a relic from the 60's, very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, General Manager at Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for posting your sincere comments on TripAdvisor. We have considered whether to offer the resort showers and spring-fed pool facilities to campers who stay at NPS campgrounds for quite some time. We have made the swimming pool, which has been remodeled with new shade structures and lounge seating, and showers available to campers for many years as a convenience. If you would like personal assistance with resolving this issue, please contact me directly at your convenience. As with all guests, your satisfaction is my top priority.

Rich Jones
General Manager
Furnace Creek Resort
rjones@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

There are two parts to this resort, the Ranch and the Resort. The Ranch is cheaper by half and has most of the restaurants, general store and the borax Museum. It is by far the better deal. While we didn't see the rooms in the Resort, there was only one small gift shop which closed before 5, a lobby bar with limited seating and a dining room that insists in a dress code. Fine if that's your style but not particularly complementary to travellers.

Both places charge above average rates for the level of facilities they offer. The Ranch is very neat but the buildings show their age inspite of attempts at modernization. There are no microwaves in the rooms so the frozen food offered by the general store is only targeted at the RV park.

The food is good but you'll pay a couple of bucks more than you would outside the park. The gas prices however are outrageous. Gas costs roughly $2 more per gallon than outside the park and $1 more than in Panamint Springs so fill up before you go to the park.

In spite of all this, if you really want to experience Death Valley (and you definitely should) you need to stay at this resort. It is pretty much in the middle of all the attractions. It is very easy to experience the main areas of the Valley in a couple of days if you home base from this resort.

So in spite of the pretty obvious price gouging going on the Death Valley experience makes it worth it. Just plan your advance purchases so you spend as little as possible at the resort. We easily made it into the park, the major attractions (except Scotty's Castle area) and back out over 3 days on one tank of gas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a great place. Our room was nice and clean with the patio and two great rocking chairs overlooking the ranch. The staff was pretty good too. The restaurant is a bit costly but is good. I think it is justified as there is nothing around in that area.This was our first trip to Death Valley and definitely a memorable one. Death valley is just an amazing place to visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor7118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
72.6 km away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
15.0 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,248 - ₹ 26,829
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing