We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were slightly nervy about staying here following some of the reviews, but it was the right side of the park for us as we were making an early start the next day. The room although not huge was adequate, and although we did hear our neighbours on occasion they did not disturb us.

The food and beer in the adjacent bar was very good (we had burgers) as was the $10 all you can eat breakfast the following day.

Overall it provided what was asked a clean room at a decent price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrummieVegasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    179
    158
    92
    135
See reviews for
135
302
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Come for the view and proximity to Death Valley, not for resort amenities. The area is awe-inspiring; the motel is ik--hard to get a reservationm but it's inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Our motel is very basic, although we do boast free Wi-Fi for all of our guests via satellite signal. We hope you will come visit us again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you are desperate, stay here. Of the three places we stayed while in Death Valley, this is last by a landslide. After reading reviews, we went for the cabin. It did have the advantage of no adjoining walls. When I walked in and turned on the air conditioning unit, it started blowing sand into the living room. On the plus side, I think the room was clean before the sand hit it.

The cabin has two bedrooms. One has an air conditioner as the headboard for a queen bed. The other must have once been the back porch wood shed, with a low ceiling. None of the windows opened in this room and there wasn't even a fan -- a double/twin bunk bed took upmost of the space.

To get to the bathroom, you have to walk through the bedroom with the queen bed.The small refrigerator had no shelves so you just had to pile stuff in and hope the door stayed closed.

The rug was stained and the furniture frayed. We've stayed in numerous "quaint" old motels and thought they were fine but this was an overpriced dive.

There's a good selection of beers on tap (and lots to choose from in bottles) at the bar/restaurant and the pizza was fine. The service was good. There is very little in the general store.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biondabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here.

The air conditioner in the living room blowing sand is extremely embarrassing! I'm so sorry! Sometimes if there is a windstorm sand is blown into the intake. This was a staff oversight, as they should have turned it on to clear it out before they cleaned. This issue has been addressed with the housekeeping staff.

Since your stay, we have moved the queen bed in the master bedroom so that the air conditioner is no longer above the bed. The second bedroom with the bunk beds is very small. The windows do not open, but there is a door to the back porch that opens. We appreciate your feedback about the lack of circulation, and will consider the feasibility of adding an additional a/c unit or fan.

The layout is strange in that you have to walk through the master bedroom to get to the bathroom. We do disclose this fact on our website, where we also have photos of all the rooms, www.panamintsprings.com. Some of the shelves in our current refrigerator have been broken, but we will be purchasing a new one shortly.

The carpet in the cottage is very unfortunate, as it is off-white. This means you can see every stain! I do my best to keep it clean. I guarantee it is shampooed more than any hotel you've stayed in, but because of the color it doesn't always look clean. One of our next projects is to remove the carpet and put it a wood floor.

Although our motel is more expensive than a similar place would be in a metropolitan area, we are the least expensive lodging option in Death Valley National Park. Our prices reflect our high operating costs due to being off grid in a remote area.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are a small family business and we are doing the best we can to make improvements whenever possible. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Death Valley National Park hotels

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

After all the reviews I heard I didn't want to stay here but had waited to the last minute to make reservations and this was the only place available on the day we wanted. I wasn't expecting much but we had room 12 - two queen beds. The room was clean, sheets looked good, bed comfy, bathroom was good and clean. There was no noise even though it looked completely full. The RV camp across the street was party city but not at the rooms. Surprisely the food was good too. Limited menu for dinner and breakfast was a buffet. Didn't like spending $30 for a pizza but it was quite good.

Room Tip: Don't buy gas here, go into Stovepipe Wells for a better price. They are very helpful in guiding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate it and hope you will visit us again in the future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
696 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Panamint Springs resort and I'm here to tell you that your experience will really depend on the room you get. The first night we were in room #3, which has a queen bed. We had a terrible experience as this had an ajoining door and not only was that not soundproofed, but the top edge of the wall adjoining the ceiling had a huge gap in it where the light from the ajoining room came in. You could hear everything in the next room and I mean everything.

However, the next night we were in room #14, a room with three beds. The room was spacious and was much better soundproofed. The bathroom was large and actually had a bath. A very nice room that I would recommend. Of course, this room was about $40 more then room #3, but well worth it.

Oh, and be sure to fill up your car before you get here. They are well known as having the highest gasoline price in the continental United States. In March 2012, it was $5.48 for regular, about $1.10 higher per gallon then in Lone Pine, 40 miles away.

Room Tip: Highly recommend #14 or those around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
27.2 km away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,438 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
41.4 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Property: Panamint Springs Resort
Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,072
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing