We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real desert experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very little choice of lodging if you stay in DV Natl Park. This place has charm and 'old west' feel that you associate with Death Valley. The rooms are adequate and the saloon for dinner and drinks is fun place to gather after a day touring the park. Sit at bar and strike up a conversation with your fellow travelers or bartenders. I found the much higher priced Furnace Creek filled with tour busses and tourists. Stovepipe has a genuine feel.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank eceprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,001 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

You have few options in Death Valley. Stove Pipe Wells is an adequate motel with a more-than-adequate restaurant for dinner (breakfast "buffet" less-than-adequate). Hot water was available only four of our six showers, but there was no extra charge for the bat in our room. Staff was disinterested, they know they have a captive audience. Nonetheless, DV is worth a visit of several days to experience the beautiful and weird landscape and exceptional hiking and photography.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogogo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Any hotel at any National Park is going to be pricey. That is a given! I chose the cheapest room knowing it was just to sleep and take a shower. The room was no frills, sans television and telephone. Since I did not have a deluxe room, I did not have a refrigerator. Except for what looked like a few dry noodles on the floor, the room appeared clean and the bed wasn't that bad. The bathroom had dispenser's with soap, shampoo, and conditioner. Complimentary water and coffee were also in the room. The room was small but didn't feel cramped but I was only one person.

Parking was ample and close by. Most rooms had parking right outside their door. There was an ice machine across from my room. In addition, I got a coupon while checking in for a free bag of ice from the general store across the street. A very pleasant surprise was that there is a security guy watching things and walking around. I never felt unsafe but it was still nice to know he was there. Right across from the restaurant was a "computer" room with two computers with internet to use for free. I was not far from the restaurant and saloon which were just steps away. If you wanted to order anything to-go, you order it from the saloon which is connected to the restaurant. The bartender was a bit overwhelmed (and not exactly that friendly) and when I came back for my food forgot my side salad. An appetizer of four chicken taquitos and a small side salad.....$14.00

There is a pool but I was too exhausted to go check it out. The only issue I had was that my keys did not work all the time. I'm not sure if sand is getting into the lock slots or what.

Based on all of the above, you cannot beat the location. You are in the middle of the park and right next to the Mesquite sand dunes which was perfect for getting up at 4:00AM to take sunrise photos. Check in and out was quick. Most of the staff I encountered were friendly.

I spent my first two nights in a hotel in Beatty which was only 30 miles outside of the park. After long days of hiking, driving, and photography through the park, those 30 miles felt like 100. To be inside of the park, especially Death Valley NP, is the only way to go!

On a side-note: Gas is available at the Stovepipe Wells General Store. It is a few cents cheaper then at Furnace Creek which I saw at $6.01 a gallon for premium. If you can hang on till you get to the Nevada side, it was averaging $3.80 or so a gallon over there.

Room Tip: Reserve your room as soon as you can! All three resorts in Death Valley fill up quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were happy to stop at Stovepipe Wells for the first nights in Death Valley, as the trip into the valley took much longer than Mapquest promised. . . and Furnace Creek is farther on travelling from the coast. The room was adequate; the eating options were pricey. Mosaic Canyon and the Mesquite sand dunes were close by. The latter became a problem the first evening and then most of the next day...gusty winds blew the sand, and we couldn't leave the room without being pelted with sand. We drove around the park and could look back to see the sand in the air, but the rest of the valley was fine. Prices were outrageous at the general store and restaurants. The front desk staff was slow and tied up both computers on a mixed up reservation and then waited while the affected guest went to her room for her credit card.... Later, another guest went in for information, but gave up due to slow lines. The room had no hot water to speak of in the shower (I couldn't bear to stand under the shower for more than a rinse), but the showers at the pool ran hot (take your own soap and shampoo, there's none at the pool and the room supplies it in wall mounted dispensers, so not portable). The pool was nice, a pleasant temperature on a Spring day. Coffee in the lobby was much better than that in the restaurant (and free). Dogs are allowed in the room, and the one next door barked. The decor is simple, the room adequate (no phone or tv in ours--fine with me). There was ice available. The room had enough space to do yoga. . . Bring your own water. . .it's not too tasty here, better at Furnace Creek.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

There is nowhere else to stay. Driving from outside the park would take up lots of time, gas and endurance. The motel is ok. Room was clean though small and the bed comfortable. Very limited menu at restaurant and $13 hamburger and fries. Approximately one vegetarian option. The general store prices are a bit better than Furnace Creek but also more limited. Love those frozen burritos heated in the store's microwave and eaten on the shaded picnic table followed by a chocolate ice cream sandwich.

Room Tip: Might be worth getting a refrigerator room and bringing along some meal material.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
15.0 km away
The Oasis at Death Valley
The Oasis at Death Valley
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,548 reviews
41.4 km away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
686 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#5 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
287 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: ₹ 12,418 - ₹ 18,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing