We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise Found.”
other travellers have booked this property
Tranquility Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquility Cottage
Living Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Tranquility Cottage
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen and Dining Room
Master  Bedroom, First Floor (King Bed)
Queen Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Twins Bedroom
Reading and Game Room
Reading and Game Room
Sun Room with Sliding Doors to Deck
Shelves of Guidebooks, Maps, Area Menus
Full Bath
Somesville
Lobster boats in Bernard
Asticou Gardens
Acadia National Park Thompson Island
Acadia National Park Bernard
Southwest Harbor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shoecrazy...
Auburn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned after spending a week at Tranquility Cottage. May I just say that we found it to be so comfortable and the next thing to being in our own home. Everything shown on the website was on spot accurate. We did not want for anything. No matter what we were looking for, the cottage had it. The owners were great to work with, and answered questions we had. The area was so convenient, and Thurston's Lobster House was awesome. We ate there three times, and each time was excellent. We bec ame acquainted with the neighbors at the end of the road, and they were so warm and friendly to us. Acadia was without a doubt one of the most beautiful places we have been to during our many travels in the U.S. and Canada. We do hope to return at some point to Mt. Desert Island, and the next time with our children and grandchildren. Many thanks to the owners for a great stay and accommodations..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness, convenience, and cleanliness.
Liked least: Cannot think of any negatives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather K
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Tranquility Cottage lived up to its name and beyond!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Tranquility Cottage May 23-May 30. the cottage was wonderful. Extremely clean and well stocked with everything you could ever need. We used the grill several times for dinner and having the washer and dryer were great. The cottage is in a great location and only a short ride to the entrance of Acadia and Bar Harbor. Julie is a fantastic host! We will return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willimantic, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Delphi567
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Tranquility Cottage! We loved that the house had everything for our little one, that it was spacious and that we were close to all the major sites. The park was absolutely beautiful and it was so nice to have such a nice Cottage to come back to, to relax afterwards. It made us feel right at home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitkaSusa...
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just about perfect”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at Tranquility Cottage. It was quiet, comfortable and well stocked with anything one might need on vacation. The notebooks were super helpful, along with all the local guidebooks and historical materials. We loved being in the quiet part of Acadia, but took full advantage of the whole Park(except Bar Harbor, we never went there). We would love to return with our children and grandsons next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing