We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun at Any Time of Year”
Review of Thunder Hole

Thunder Hole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chasm surrounded by water and gardens.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun at Any Time of Year”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Ocean Drive - the section of the Park Loop Road from Sand Beach to Otter Cliff - is open year 'round, even when the rest of the Park Loop Road closes for the season (approx Dec 15-Apr 15). Best time to see and hear thundering booms of surf is 2 hrs before high tide and during ocean storms. NEVER TURN YOUR BACK on the ocean (Google "rogue waves"), and DO NOT GO BEYOND THE BARRIERS. People have been swept out to sea and killed by not respecting nature. The daunting beauty of the ocean can turn deadly, so enjoy responsibly. As I like to say, "This ain't Disney, folks!"

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LCRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    177
    137
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bust!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We waited at the appropriate time, but nothing happened. Ranger said it doesn't always "thunder". We missed out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank romantictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Skip This Unless the Waves are Rolling”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

When we visited during calm seas and low tide, this attraction was an over attended dud. Bus loads of people dropped off to mill about. There were so many other beautiful things to see in the park, skip this one unless the seas are high and the tide is in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
284 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the morning”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Most people go here during the obvious time – HIGH TIDE. I had to alter my plans since that specified time was out so I went instead around 6:15 a.m. or right after sunrise on Cadillac Mountain. There were very few people there (2) and 5 more to join after me. I got some great shots. I think the sun hitting the rocks all up and down the coast this time of morning is gorgeous. I was also able to see what made Thunder Hole “thunder”. It is a cave-like hole down by the last landing. With the tide not being so high you can also watch as the water builds and makes more and more spray. I highly doubt this is something possible during high tide.

I also drove by during the evening – around 7:00 p.m. but the color was not as great as in the morning. It may have been a little earlier – say 6:00 p.m. Sunset was at 8:15 p.m.

Anyway, this is a great place to stop. I went during July 4th week and parking can be limited but remember that it is a 2-way road going ONE WAY so you can always pull off to the right and walk to it. There is a small visitor center with drinks and restroom in the parking lot directly across from Thunder Hole.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HazelEyesFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, AR
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and worth the trip but check the tides first”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Anyone rating this low is ridiculous. First, this is an event of nature, not something predictable like a restaurant. It would be equivalent to standing by Old Faithful for ten minutes, leaving because nothing has happened, and then rating it low. Thunder Hole doesn't always produce spectacular noise and splashes of water because the tides and seas simply don't always do that. The scenery is nice regardless.

To know what to expect, the best times are a couple of hours before high tide but you are only likely to see a spectacular show if the seas are a bit high. If the winds and seas are calm, just know that's probably not the most spectacular day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arkansas_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thunder Hole also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Thunder Hole? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing