We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding reception, rooms not quite 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside, uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding reception, rooms not quite 4 star”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at Thornton Hall for two nights to attend a wedding. The rooms were nice but overpriced in my opinion. I have stayed in much nicer rooms for half the price of what was charged here. We ordered room service which was nice, and opted to have breakfast in our room during the stay. Breakfast came with cold toast and no butter/sauces, we had to ring reception for these and by the time it came breakfast was cold.

Spa was lovely and were the hotel grounds. The wedding was beautiful, everything was perfect, one of the best weddings i have ever been to.

Main negative point was the price of drinks in the bar, they were absolutely extortionate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem_mcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    261
    131
    70
    40
See reviews for
215
486
26
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The room was great with a beautiful view and balcony (shame about the weather!). Restaurant was grand and modern and the food was high end cuisine. Spa and pool a must. Very relaxing and lovely surroundings. A nice bespoke feel to the spa rather than the typical big chains. Looking forward my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCM72TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Heard mixed reviews about this hotel, but 14 of us went for a long weekend to celeberate a 50th & 30th birthday. We had a great time - hotel very nice and clean, staff very friendly and helpful, food great, spa facilities fantastic especially the hot tubs outside. Even had a TV in the bathroom - fab!

Thank you for a great time, would certainly recommend and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the lawn and gazebo where weddings were held. Excellent and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Myself and 2 girlfriends went in March for a 3 day, 2 night spa break. This is our 5th visit on a yearly basis and by far the best time yet. We stayed in the same adjoining rooms as usual which are very comfortable, although a touch on the warm side.
The food was out of this world with so many added little touches which made us feel very special indeed. The restaurant staff were very pleasant and obliging without being intrusive.
Now for what we really go for, pampering. We've been to several spas over the years and end up coming back here. The therapists are wonderful girls who made us feel so relaxed as usual, with the relaxation room also being used to the full. We book our own treatments rather than go on an organised break, but the spa give us 10% off all treatments seen as we stay in the hotel. The pool area is very clean and far from busy and the outdoor hot tubs are to die for. You can even order drinks to be rought out to you. I've been in these tubs in November and it was amazing.The only down side is that you have to walk around the hotel to get to the leisure club, but it's nt the end of the world, as long as it's not raining.
Needless to say, we're already saving for next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Five fantastic things about thornton hall

1 smart
2 sharp and quick staff
3 great food
4 smiles
5 never ever any problems

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordadamsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
12.1 km away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
768 reviews
5.8 km away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,547 reviews
7.4 km away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
281 reviews
12.8 km away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,309 - ₹ 16,352
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing