We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free bottle of wine after moving into area”
Review of The Greave Dunning

The Greave Dunning
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Greasby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Greave Dunning gave a voucher for a free bottle of wine to us via the estate agents we bought a house through. We enjoyed a meal here on a Sunday which was Sunday roast. Free bottle of wine was excellent. Good food, but not as tasty as another pub nearby nor as good value either. Overall not bad.

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank cyberchickgoesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! Thanks Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Due to ill health this was a big effort for some family members. Kerry has no idea the impact her outstanding customer service skills had in the 5 of us...Nana loved her cheese on toast! Please pass out thanks on, the food was good too!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Al02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Al02, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Greave Dunning and to Ceri. Thanks Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

What a surprise. First time visit to the Greave Dunning will not be the last.
Superb setting inside with excellent feel of a comfort and a well organised
business. Having just enjoyed an Autumn walk in Royden Park, took advantage
of a visit to the Greave Dunning. Great menu - lunchtime - and good beer backed
up with good service.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hoylake186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for this lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Went with a number of work colleagues for Sunday Dinner. Packed out. Wonder what the fuss was about. Food was very poor and not cheap. Clearly a branded establishment. A number of items including the roasties had run out and the roast meat looked and tasted like sliced sandwich filling.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank harrysonjas18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you for your frank review. As you say the pub was indeed packed out on this Sunday. I am sure you will appreciate that after a particularly busy day, sometimes we will run out of roast items by late evening. Saying this, the team have informed me that they did not run out of roasties until after 8.30 pm. We are indeed a branded pub, an Ember Inn, which is the highest performing brand owned by Mitchell's and Butlers. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us, we certainly hope you give us a chance to make amends. Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Ceri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Really good food. Friendly welcome. Reasonably priced wines and beer. Nice atmosphere and good service in the form or very helpful Ceri.
Very enjoyable.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Greave Dunning, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you so much Geoff J for that brilliant review. So glad your visit was enjoyable, and it's made our day to read such lovely feedback from you. Ceri is chuffed with your kind words too. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greave Dunning also viewed

 
Thurstaston, Wirral
 

Been to The Greave Dunning? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing