We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Kirkstile Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loweswater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkstile Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loweswater
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had been to the Kirkstile a few times for drinks and meals but this was the first time we had stayed. All I can say is that the experience far exceeded the expectation. We stayed in the fourposter bedroom, clean, comfortable and well proportioned with a nice ensuite that had bath with shower above (mind the 17th century beam though !). Breakfast was excellent with a real varied menu to suite most people and guaranteed to set you up for the day ahead.We ate at the Kirkstile for our evening meals that again were excellent with local ingredients featuring strongly each night, really was top drawer food, all accompanied with fantastic ales or wine if prefered. We found the staff very polite and help full and worked extremely hard even during bust times when the Inn is quite full. All in all I rated our visit to the Kirkstile very highly and have recommend it to close friends and family as a place they must visit as I will be doing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    65
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
122
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Every time we visit the Lake District we cannot resist calling at the Kirkstile Inn for lunch, and every time we are not disappointed in either the food or the quality of ales available. The last 2 years we have been fortunate enough in that the mild weather has meant that sitting outside with our meal and drinks has been very pleasant and relaxing. However, even on a cold and wet day, the warm and welcoming Kirkstile is still worth stopping at. Undoubtedly we will call in again next time.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Kirkstile is in a fairly remote but distinctly delightful spot, about half an hour's drive from Keswick, and is well situated for spectacular walks in this area of the North Lakes - Buttermere for example is about 2 hours away. Our room was pretty basic and small but clean and comfortable, with a walk-in shower rather than bath, and a small flat screen tv. There's no internet access or mobile phone signal. I didn't experience any problems with the staff - one was a bit brusque and distracted, but ok; the rest were excellent. Dogs aren't aloed in the bar after 6, and I didn't see any families in the evening, which may indicate that children aren't really welcome,but I could be wrong. Food quality, wether supper in the bar or breakfast, is top notch, and the real ales, as with many in this part of the world, are superb and worth the trip alone. All in all I liked it here, and would return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Kirkstile Inn nestles in a remote part of The Northern Lakes in the small village of Loweswater. Remote as it is the journey is more than recompensed with what is offered by this establishment. The food is of very high quality, the dining room is golden in its warmth and the breakfast is a joy.The Inn brews its own beer of exceedingly high quality which more than helps to sustain after a strenuous day on The Fells. The bedrooms are small but comfortable and I would recommend a bath rather than a shower.Overall, an experience not to be missed. Sadly, cheaper tariff finishes at the end of March but you still have a few days left to take advantage.

Room Tip: There are differently priced rooms-take advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geofffarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My family and I spent the Christmas week in Borrowdale and after hearing lots of good things about the Kirkstile Inn we decided to head over the Honister Pass and give it a go for lunch on 30th December 2011. We arrived just after 2pm and when we tried to order at the bar we were told that we had missed the lunch menu and would therefore have to wait until the afternoon tea menu became available at around 2.30 (basic sandwiches, a smattering of basic cakes, you get the picture). That was rather less than we had been hoping for but we decided to wait, as the pub itself was stunning and the views just as good (despite the wind and driving rain outside). Having waited patiently over the next 30 minutes, we were then told (at the fourth time of asking at the bar) that any orders off the afternoon tea menu would be subject to a 30 minute delay, because they were a bit behind in the kitchen. If that was the case why did they not tell us earlier, rather than let us sit there like lemons waiting for our chance to order?!! What a bizarre approach to customer "service". I share the view expressed by RobDali that we felt like an inconvenience to the staff rather than valued customers. Given that by that stage it was about 3pm and too late to get in the car and try elsewhere we opted to go ahead and order, knowing it would still be some time until the food would eventually come along. When the sandwiches did finally arrive at around 3.30pm they were a bit of a joke - they had clearly been prepared very hastily using old bread and poor quality ingredients. It would have taken literally two minutes for anyone at all to make a far better sandwich, so we didn't understand the reason for the huge delay. If it takes the pub nearly an hour and a half to produce four basic sandwiches then perhaps they should withdraw their afternoon tea menu, because it is clearly an inconvenience to them to offer it. So all in all the experience was a big disappointment. I'm just glad we weren't actually staying there. My advice is to think twice before committing to visit this place, although I would sincerely hope that our experience was the exception rather than the rule.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loweswater
12.1 km away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
7.9 km away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
591 reviews
12.9 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
13.2 km away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
809 reviews
11.4 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkstile Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkstile Inn

Property: Kirkstile Inn
Address: Loweswater CA13 ORU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Loweswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loweswater
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,975 - ₹ 6,633
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirkstile Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kirkstile Hotel Loweswater
Kirkstile Hotel Cockermouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing