We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grange Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hundith Hill Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$ 141
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor House Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Trout Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 127
US$ 114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkstile Inn(Loweswater)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
10
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
10
3
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This isn't linen napkins and room service.... it is a very friendly, home from home, in a cracking location. We were 7 walking, where we could have doubled up on rooms and made it much cheaper - as it was, we had a room each and it was still decent value. We really enjoyed the meal in - its not cheap, but was great to eat there and there were seconds of everything..... v good lamb!
We plan to use again and I will also use with the family - the self catering would be perfect....

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fotherini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Just arrived home after 3 wonderful days at The Grange.
We have visited for many years and always enjoyed the friendly relaxed atmosphere and really nice home ccooked meals.
The newly refurbised bedrooms have been done very tastefully.Well done Lorna and Keith.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank joyce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We booked last minute for one night. The owners were very friendly and the whole place had a homely, welcoming feel. The meal was very nice - and there was lots of it - with the owner constantly offering the guests more of this or that. They also have a bar with a range of soft and alcoholic drinks available. After we had a relaxing coffee in the lounge which has beautiful views of the surrounding countryside (which is exquisite). The family dog came to sit with us while we had our coffee. Our room was a bit dated (the owner said other rooms had been refurbished but ours was one of the ones that hadn't). It had an en suite with a bath but no shower or shower attachment. There was a shared bathroom down the hall with a shower in it. We didn't use it but it looked fine. If we had been staying for more than one night we would have wanted our own shower. Overall, it was a pleasant and relaxing place and we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Check if your en suite has a shower if that's important to you.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ukrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed in the area for a long weekend walking, Grange House is in a lovely situation by the Lake. Comfortable room with Lake View, bathroom had been modernised with excellent shower. Room a little over full with period furniture, large built in wardrobe. Modern TV, wifi, tea and coffee tray. Traditional Full English Breakfast. Kirkstile Inn 2 miles down the road or The Wheatsheaf in Lorton not much further for dinner and drinks. Lorna will provide dinner if you wish to dine in and there is a well stocked bar for a nightcap. Don't trip over the Black Lab on your way in!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We recently stayed here to attend a nearby wedding. The location of the hotel, just over the road from Loweswater lake means it has an ideal setting with magnificent views.
The owners Lorna and Keith, could not be more friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good and set us up well for the day ahead.
We stayed in a lake view room, and it was obvious that the bathroom had recenlty been completely renenewed to a very high standard.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to stay in a front room, with the view of the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank STCGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews