We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grange Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hundith Hill Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
US$ 101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor House Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Trout Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$ 217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkstile Inn(Loweswater)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
10
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
10
3
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Very good. Nothing too much trouble. Comfortable and cosy. We'd definitely stay here again. Leave the car and walk round Loweswater. Stop off at Kirkstile Inn. Lovely. It s a bit like going back in time at The Grange but in a good way.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elisha5794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We booked to stay for a few nights at The Grange Country House in Loweswater to attend a wedding at the village hall.
As the house was fully booked we stayed in Lucy’s Apartrment, which is a self catering unit. The decoration may be slightly dated, but it is comfy, cosy and clean. The king size bed is firm as I like it and a few great nights of sleep, waking only to the gentle sounds of sheep and cows.
If you are self catering, the kitchen and the bathroom are well equipped, with modern units in the kitchen, and a shower over the bath in the bathroom. We only used the kitchen for making drinks and used glasses for wine and sat outside taking in the view.
Lorna and Keith were great host and ready to chat even when busy, and really couldn’t be friendlier.
The breakfasts are very tasty with local produce and white or brown toast :-) Lorna is very good in checking that you are fed well for your day ahead, and more toast of any required hue and tea if needed.

We had wonderful weather for the wedding and a lovely homely, welcoming stay at the Grange Country House. We had chance for some walks on our stay, just basic strolling past Loweswater and Crummock Water.
Evening meals and a bar are available, though with a wedding these weren’t tried.
There is wi-fi, I was able to see wi-fi in Lucys apartment but turned my phone off.

Room Tip: Wi-fi in main hotel only.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bobj146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Spent 2 nights at The Grange during August. Lorna and Keith marvelous company so well traveled could talk for hours.
Lovely home very well present in true English style.I had a single room overlooking the driveway.The room was well furnished the bed was very comfortable also a nice ensuite.Good breakfast.Everything was very clean.Summer - Lorna offered to turn on the central heating.Although I had picked a chest cold I was still able to have a leisurely walk partly around Loweswater.A very tranquil spot away from the madding crowd.
Good luck to Keith and his tomatoes.Will be back one day.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BirdmanPatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed with my 2 young sons, arrived late but made to feel so welcome and given a much needed cup of tea. Beautiful room, comfy bed, pillows and hot shower. The kids & I loved talking to Lorna & Keith and they made us feel like family. Had a hearty breakfast before we headed off on our trek. Can't fault the hospitality or the setting.

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank kcole1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We return to the Grange regularly for our main summer holiday which says it all really. We prefer the self catering facilities as it suits our dogs better and the welcome we receive each time is genuine and appreciated. Wonderful location with great views and smashing walks that start straight from the door it's everything that we want and we know we won't find better - not that we feel inclined to look!

Room Tip: Not been disappointed with any I've tried. All are quite unique !
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews