We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, secluded, long or short-stay...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your dream home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your dream home!
Hillside House Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Your dream home!
Hillside House
Living area
Living area
Seating area
Living area
Kitchen area
kitchen with breakfast table
dining area
log burner
foosball
Full lenth dressing mirror
Downstairs bathroom
landing
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
En suite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Outdoor seating
Patio
Recliners
patio with seating
Landscaped garden
paddock
Paddock
Distant views
Views into Cheshire countryside!
farmland views
flowers galore!
car port
garden
kiki the hen!
jokers of the garden!
lucy the lamb
Driveway
approach
turn left now!
Sunset at Hillside!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tarvin, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jay K
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect, secluded, long or short-stay accommodation close to all amenities!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We wanted a pet-friendly property with private surroundings and easy access to Chester for a two-night stay meeting up with family. This area was new to us and I left it late to book.
So lucky to find this lovely, spacious and comfortable barn conversion only 10 minutes from the city! Everything about this experience was easy and stress-free from booking on-line to checking in and out of the property. We were warm and cosy in minutes, thanks to
the lovely lounge wood-burner. We invited our family over for a meal on the 2nd day and they loved it. They thought it was extremely good value for money in comparison to their
hotel and would try to book it in the future. We would highly recommend this experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall space, comfort and outdoor freedom.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistermrm...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very pretty and spacious barn conversion”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed over with our young son for a wedding. The place is tastefully decorated and has everything you need for a short break. It was a bit chilly when we arrived but it soon warmed up with the heaters. There is a log burner too but we didnt use it. The grounds are beautiful and it was lovely to wake up to the gorgeous countryside outside the big patio windows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting, price and comfort
Liked least: Toilet all the way on the ground floor!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiep15...
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accomodation for our family of three adults”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found this Barn Conversion very clean and tidy. There was everything we needed for our two night stay. It is close to local shops and places to eat.

The outlook from the patio is pure country side which is lovely to look out to on any day regardless of the weather.

It is about 5 miles from Chester City Centre and not too far from Liverpool so ideally situated.

I would book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: kept hitting head on ceiling (I should have learnt after first time)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: fridge was only a cooler.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony_mc27
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I recently stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and found this accommodation perfect for us. There were 2 adults and 1 dog travelling and there was something for everyone in this accommodation.

I would definitely recommend this place for 2 adults or maybe a small family as there is only one bedroom upstairs and one bathroom which is located downstairs. The barn is furnished very well with good size TV and appliances and the location is perfect (15 mins to chester / cheshire oaks etc) and a short walk/drive into Tarvin where you will find a couple of pubs and an excellent chippy.

The barn is on the same site as the owners, but faces away from their lovely property so you still get to feel like you are on your own. The owners though are lovely and Bona couldn't do enough. We had a BBQ on the Saturday and he even came over to tidy up the BBQ once we finished. The grounds are lovely too and there is a big field by the patio so our dog was in his element.

Additional info: I booked the wrong dates in error and it clashed with a prior commitment and after contacting Bona by e-mail he quickly worked out possible options for us and was very understanding and changed our dates no questions asked - thank you Bona

We would love to return as it ticked all our boxes in what we look for when we book this type of accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Patio and BBQ was great
Liked least: Downstairs toilet at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing