We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We visited the G & D once again on Saturday night with local friends. Its a friendly place, nice atmosphere, good selection of beers and wines and the food is both very reasonable and very good. It is pub food in a similar vein to JD Spoons but nothing like as mass produced. Our burgers were clearly handmade and very good they were too, my friends steak size was generous, her partners chicken excellent too. The service was friendly and prompt, the place was clean and there was even a live band on later. What's not to like?

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mshuttleworth2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

We booked the rooms in the george and dragon over the phone We had a great time ,the hosts were friendly The pub was great with prices very reasonable . We thought the food was great and enjoyed it all, the breakfast in the morning was really nice. The rooms were good plenty of room with a nice ensuite . Would i go back without a doubt great value , and a lovely sunday dinner .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONESTJOHN-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Scampi, fish & chips, chicken pathia, gammon and egg, crispy pesto chicken burger

This is the third meal we have had here and it has been good every time.

Friday is prosecco night £9.99 a bottle

Total meal including drinks less than £65 for 5 adults

Staff really friendly

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank nickpC2597KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Food disgusting, I've been here a lot of times & not once have I thought 'I'll be back' it's just convenient when I've no time to cook but to pay for something I could cook better isn't pleasant. The kitchen staff are awful as well and extremely rude. I wish it wasn't just down the road, it's shameful. There's a few bar people who are friendly enough but that's it. The outside part is awful. Can't go sit outside if you're not a smoker. It's a small area full of smokers. The other part needs massively updating.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicolefayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This place serves a nice clean pint and has a good selection of beers. The food was equally good and the tapas options are well worth a go, especially the fishcakes! The portion sizes are good and desserts were also tasty! Wines were also reasonably priced, so easy to spend an evening here!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank businessman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
3 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
415 reviews
14.3 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,338 reviews
5.8 km away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
8.4 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

Address: 67 High Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Price Range: ₹ 3,973 - ₹ 5,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Dragon has 5 well appointed double en-suite bedrooms and one twin en-suite. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, power shower, LCD televisions with freeview and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is served in the newly refurbished George & Dragon pub. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, teas, coffees and cooked breakfasts. George & Dragon is located in Tarvin, a picturesque Cheshire village only eight minutes drive from the historic Chester City Center. Within a short driving distance is Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Racecourse, Oulton Park, Delamere Forest and Cheshire Gardens. The pub has its own car park and has a bus stop opposite with regular bus services for Chester and Crewe, making travel easy between local attractions. George & Dragon opens at 12.00Pm and serves home cooked meals 7 days a week 12.00Pm - 9.00Pm. The pub holds live music every Friday night and once a month, Take Two, the pubs resident Jazz Band performs live between, and the pub is always busy through out the weekend. You won't be short of things to do during your stay! The George & Dragon is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Dragon Hotel Tarvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing