We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I've stayed here quite a few times when in town working, and the rooms are immaculate, feels like so much more than a £59 B&B... Today was the first time I have just dropped in for lunch, and wow, the food is amazing too... Highly recommend if you are looking for somewhere nice to stay or eat in cheshire :) xx

Room Tip: I have stayed in a few of their rooms, I couldn't say one was any better than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveryder2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2016

Called in for lunch 18 of us after a walk around Tarvin. Ordered soup & a sandwich. Soup was undiscribible. I can only tell you it was purée green/grey in colour & very bitter. It was not fit to eat and when I complained the girl cheekily said to another lady who was waiting for hers ' shall I cancel yours' the answer was yes. Needless to say i did not pay for it as I could not eat it.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank June I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Great place, will be back. Also visited your other pub The Plough in Gresford too only a few days ago, really friendly short guy behind the bar who I haven't seen before - you have such friendly staff.
Both local type pubs but welcoming to everyone.
Keep it up! Thanks

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Sha-Wrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Set in the small tranquil village of Tarvin, this friendly and contemporary designed pub has plenty of bar space kept mainly for drinking, with lots of choice on drinkswith both draft and bottles to choose from. The dining area is well laid out with plenty of space and a hoid traditional pub menu and suitable for couples and families alike. Live music usually on a Friday evening and usually gets a good crowd. Had rooms but never stayed over so cannot advise on them.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

We were a group of 12 people who visited the George and Dragon on a very busy Saturday evening following the Christmas fair. We received outstanding service from Emily and the food was most enjoyable. Would highly recommend and we'll be back very soon.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
3 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
413 reviews
14.3 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
8.4 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
7.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

Address: 67 High Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Price Range: ₹ 3,915 - ₹ 5,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Dragon has 5 well appointed double en-suite bedrooms and one twin en-suite. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, power shower, LCD televisions with freeview and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is served in the newly refurbished George & Dragon pub. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, teas, coffees and cooked breakfasts. George & Dragon is located in Tarvin, a picturesque Cheshire village only eight minutes drive from the historic Chester City Center. Within a short driving distance is Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Racecourse, Oulton Park, Delamere Forest and Cheshire Gardens. The pub has its own car park and has a bus stop opposite with regular bus services for Chester and Crewe, making travel easy between local attractions. George & Dragon opens at 12.00Pm and serves home cooked meals 7 days a week 12.00Pm - 9.00Pm. The pub holds live music every Friday night and once a month, Take Two, the pubs resident Jazz Band performs live between, and the pub is always busy through out the weekend. You won't be short of things to do during your stay! The George & Dragon is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Dragon Hotel Tarvin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing