We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer care - no breakfast.”
Review of Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unicorn Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Deddington B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor customer care - no breakfast.”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Lovely pub and people seemed so nice. I wouldn't stay again as no- one turned up to make me breakfast ( part of the price) at 8.30 as arranged. I even phoned the hotel number whilst waiting for 30 minutes but to no avail. I had to find some milk for cerials and rush off to work in the area. Shame as I am potentially a regular visitor to the area for business. Looks like other guests have had similar issues! basic issues like this need resolving to be successful surely.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcfgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    15
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
17
27
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stay at the Unicorn regularly and have just returned from our latest stay and as usual the standard of service was second to none
Saskia and the staff were helpful, obliging and gave excellent service which gave us a very relaxing few days.
I reccomend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front to overlook the square - try for rooms 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKnights, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Thank you for you very kind feedback. It is nice to see Saskia mentioned by name for her service. Reviews from regulars are particularly important as it is important for potential new customers to know why people keep coming back. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I have never had such a bad experience with a hotel. It started when I couldn't get them to confirm my booking (I was booking 3 rooms on behalf of 2 other people, for a wedding, so wanted proper confirmation). I called and emailed and left messages, but it was weeks until they replied. Then when we arrived they said they only booked 1 double room instead of 2 (when I know for sure I booked 2 - one for sole occupancy and one for 1 couple). We had no choice but to go to the wedding and hope they could sort something out for us when we returned. At midnight, when we got back to the B&B, we realised we had not been given a key to the front door. Instead of ringing the doorbell and waking up the whole building, we decided to call our friends (already there) so they could come down and let us in. It was a good job they were still awake!

The room looked nothing like the ones on the website (see pics attached of very poor upkeep). To top it all off, we were not told what time breakfast was. I called down at 9am and was told I'd missed it. But when I caught up with my friend later, he said he came down at 8.30am and the breakfast area was closed up. Which clearly meant that there was never any breakfast on offer that day!

I am still very disappointed. Unless you are desperate, don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKnights, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
This is the third poor review about the same event which we have explained in detail - see 22 and 26 Aug - and gave apologies for what we got wrong. It is rumoured that these people know our main competitor which may be the reason why this one event is being kept going. I just think it is interesting that this customer says it is our fault that they went out without a key and were surprised the door was not still open at midnight. As they went out with their friends to the same wedding we had assumed they had returned with them too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deddington hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights 12th september 4 of us were working nearby.When we arrived at 4.30 we were greeted by a friendly landlady called saskia who showed us to our rooms and made us feel welcome .The rooms were very clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant in the hotel at night was outstanding as was the breakfast which we had at 7am in the morning.We were told we could have packed lunch if we wanted to go to work before 7 which we thought was nice.All the staff that work their are very polite and dressed smartly which showed they took their position seriously.we enjoyed our time their and would not hesitate to book again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKnights, Owner at Unicorn Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Thank you for you excellent review. It is gratifying to also get reviews from business people who are often too busy to take the time. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Unicorn Inn for 4 nights and had a lovely stay. Everyone was really friendly, helpful and polite and made us feel really welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, even when we had to continually ask for our baby food and milk to be stored in the fridge and then taken back out! Our room was really clean and comfortable with a lovely view out to the market place and church. We had a great breakfast every morning to set us up for the day and ate and drank in the pub a lot - the food was excellent and kids can have a half portion of everything off the menu which is much better than the usual 'kids' choices you get. We will definitely go back - it was a lovely atmosphere and we really enjoyed our time with Saskia and her team!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKnights, Manager at Unicorn Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you so much for the feedback and kind words. We are so pleased you have pointed out our attitude towards meals for children - and it is a real pleasure when they are well behaved like yours.
We hope the problems of the last few weeks with the booking system and chef being ill are behind us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
0.1 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
513 reviews
9.0 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
8.5 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Middle Aston House
Middle Aston House
#34 of 44 in Oxford
103 reviews
4.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
427 reviews
8.4 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Inn

Property: Unicorn Inn
Address: The Unicorn Market Place, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deddington
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,539 - ₹ 12,441
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refurbished Unicorn Inn in Deddington. The Unicorn is a stunning 17th century country inn oozing with character that has an incredibly diverse offering. Not only does the Unicorn have a charming bar area and snug both complete with open fire places, it also has a contemporary restaurant, large garden, function room, relaxing coffee area and six mythical bedrooms. Johnny Parke (head chef and co proprietor) has assembled an exciting menu combining the best of traditional English and European cuisine with modern cooking techniques. All the food is locally sourced where possible and everything prepared onsite. Chris Brewster (manager and co proprietor) prides himself on his well-kept cellar. Providing great quality traditional ales and bespoke international lagers. The wine list has been assembled to cater for those who like the odd glass in the evening and for those foodies who like to match wine with their favorite dish. The Unicorn aspires to bounce back at the heart of the local community and be a warm and welcoming public house catering for families, couples and corporate trade alike. Chris, Johnny and the team look forward to welcoming you here at the Unicorn soon. Within easy distance of historic England's Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick as well as the Cotswolds, Bicester Village and Silverstone. Advanced bookings are recommended. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Deddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing