We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular spot; lovely lodge.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Maigold
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular spot; lovely lodge.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I, along with our two teenage children stayed in Brekka for five nights at the end of June (2014). The accommodation is the nicest self catering we have ever stayed in - it is immaculate with breathtaking views of Hvalfjordur (spelling?!), which, apparently, means Fjord of the whale. The hot tub was a lovely bonus - drinking Prosecco at midnight, with the raining falling in broad daylight - and it felt pretty special.
We loved Iceland, it's like planet earth - just not as we know it! We went horseriding in ancient lava fields (one ticked off the bucket list), watched amazing geothermal spectacles, layabout in a fresh water stream: 35 degree C in the stream, 14 degree C outside the stream, and visited the beautiful Thingviller national park. It really is an amazing place.
Jon (the guy who owns Brekka) was very attentive and even organised to drop off a heap of things in Reykjavik we managed to leave in the lodge on our last day. This is quality accommodation with one of the most awe-inspiring views you are likely to experience. We loved it and I am delighted to give it a top rated review.
One very small thing to note if you aren't used to your hot water coming from geothermal sources, it is beautifully hot and clean but there is a faint smell of sulphur. You'll get used to it - but I am warning you now so you don't complain later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The bumpy track up to the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoît W
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2018
Merci beaucoup. Vous êtes jamais bienvenue un autre fois chez nous en Islande!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
Liechtenstein
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2018
Vielen Dank für diesen schönen Nachruf.
Wenn Liechtensteiners wieder bei uns unterwegs werden, wünsch't ich mir, dass sie genauso angenehm in der Kommunikation werden!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephNoTr...
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Chére Stephanie,
Merci beaucoup du cet beau review. Une bouteille de vin mousseux attend toi aussi au visit prochain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
I'm happy to be able to make people happy:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing