We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stay at Okel Tor is good for the soul,”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Gwen564
1 review
“A stay at Okel Tor is good for the soul,”
Reviewed 23 November 2019 for a stay in October 2019

This was our 2nd stay at The Smithy, Okel Tor and loved it every bit as the first time. Beautiful and very interesting location, no matter what the weather. Lovely walks to Calstock and Cotehole, and only a short drive to Tavistock and Dartmoor. A perfect base, you can do as much or as little as you like, and if you have dogs they will love it.

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2020
It was lovely to see you again and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay just as much as your first.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
1 review
“Our second time here. Weather wet but cosy accomodation. Lovely walks with our dog.”
Reviewed 22 November 2019 for a stay in October 2019

Interesting mine buildings and history. Great walks and plenty of things to see. Ideal if you like peace and quiet. Not perfect if you have walking restrictions as there are some steep steps, although they can be avoided. Parking is a little restricted. A lovely and unusual place to retreat to. Friendly and knowledgable host.

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2020
It was lovely to welcome you back. We hope to see you again one day...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smokeyman...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our week away with our dogs”
Reviewed 12 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Arrived on Friday evening, got out of the car to be amazed by the fabulous view from The Smithy, spectacular doesn't really do it justice. Very well equipped kitchen, lovely living area with tv, DVD player and selection of discs to watch, DAB radio and wood burning stove. Good sized bedroom with the most comfortable bed I think I've ever slept in. Shower room with basin and WC and the shower itself is of good quality with plenty of hot water too. The only sounds that you'll hear at night are the owls, gorgeous. Beautiful place for a break with lovely walks all around. Thanks Nick and Greg for letting us share the tranquillity.

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2020
Thank you for giving us 5 bubbles! We're delighted to hear that you love our new beds - a lot of (practical) research went into their selection!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R7892OEst...
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect location”
Reviewed 31 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

ANOTHER fantastic stay at Okel Tor Mine. It is a tranquil, peaceful and scenic location. Great walks to go on and a lovely village only a 10 minute walk away. Nick and Gregg have done wonders with the accommodation, it’s perfectly presented on your arrival and everything you need is available. See you soon Nick & Jess!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2019
Thank you for giving us 5 Bubbles. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrewWarre...
2 reviews
“Perfectly secluded retreat steeped in local history”
Reviewed 12 August 2019 for a stay in April 2019

We spent 4 days at the Smithy and it really felt like we really got away from it all!!
Wonderful cottage, ideally suited for your 4 legged friend and very cosy and clean.
Our hosts were fantastic and left us to it but we knew they were there should we of encountered any problems.
We can't wait to go back!!
Laura

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2019
We're delighted that you (and your four-legged friend) enjoyed your stay in the Smithy - we hope to see you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.