We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Hoi-Monke...
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful getaway for our minimoon. Wonderful view and a gorgeous little cottage, finished to a high standard.

A very relaxing break which our dog enjoyed as well! She also seemed to get on well the owners dog Jess, who is a cutie

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your minimoon at Okel Tor Mine, including your dog! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mesmerising view”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thanks Nick for a wonderful week - the Smithy was very comfortable but we spent most of our time sitting in the stoop soaking up the sights and sounds of the valley. Perfect time of year to visit - the wild flowers were stunning
I think wifi would have been handy to look stuff up in the area - though I know you had lots of brochures!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you found The Smithy comfortable and enjoyed taking in the sights and sounds of The Tamar Valley! Due to recent improvements to the local exchange we will hopefully soon be able to provide WiFi in both cottages. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamM14
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just spent a very relaxing 4 days at The Smithy with my husband and 2 dogs. Great walks along the river Tamar to the local village pub and around the Okel Tor Mine grounds. Lovely log fire and comfortable bed. Just the type of out of the way place we love. Hope to go back for a week later in the year. Oh yes, and a brilliant place to watch the eclipse!

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remote location, beautiful setting
Liked least: Access road a bit bumpy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We're glad to hear you had a relaxing stay and were able to see the eclipse! We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeeWee49
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb for a weekend break”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

There are two cottages at Okel Tor. We stayed in The Smithy - two of us and a dog. The owner (who lives in another cottage nearby) was forewarned about the dog and provided towels for drying and cleaning her off after walks; and a throw to cover the sofa. This is very off the beaten track, but the cottage is well equipped, superbly insulated and staying here is not roughing it. We agree with everything the previous reviewer has said. Would only add that the Okel Tor Mine area is fascinating; and the walks from the cottage are superb. Would strongly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2015
Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your dog and found the mine fascinating. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and kind recommendation. We're pleased to hear that you had everything you needed for an enjoyable and peaceful stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.