We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Japaning Hotel Kiyomizu Gojo(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
US$ 188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Kamuroan(Higasiyama)
US$ 287
US$ 278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ryozen(Higasiyama)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 275
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 450
US$ 311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 354/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sunline Kyoto Gion Shijo(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 76
US$ 48
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
12
11
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
11
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus passwashing machinesmall kitchenfamily martwalking distancekyoto stationlawsonmicrowavemattresstvguesthouselaundryaccommodationstopssleepfacilitiestemple
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Totally recommend this guesthouse !!! Excellent !!! Ticks all boxes.
Close to temples, bus stops and shops. There is a fabulous okonomiyaki restaurant (Kiraku) around the corner. The accommodation itself is fantastic considering it is a budget establishment. Clean, cozy and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient. One of our faves in Japan !!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth61Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The location of the hotel is prefect though u need to take bus for around 5 stops, but it only takes 2 mins walk from bus station to hotel. The staff speaks good English and very friendly. The room is big enough and with a nice balcony face to internal, you could move the dining chairs and table outside to enjoy the sunshine. Though the hotel located next to the high way, but it is very quite at night. The facilities at room are very convenient, everything instructed very clear. We used the microwave for breakfast everyday, and did laundry 2 times. The bathroom could dry the cloth over night (super!). We did not borrow the kitchen tools as we could ask supermarket around to provide us chopsticks and spoon. Need to be careful to deal with trash as the hotel request to separate them. I read many people complained about the no supermarket around, but actually, there are 2 Lawson around: one is on the way to Kiyomizu temple, another one was located on another side of the high way ( around 7 mins walk), there are also 2 supermarket (7-11) and Lawson special (they sell fresh vegetable) located on the right side of the hotel (go out and turn right and keep walk around 10 mins). Definitely will introduce to friends.

Not dont like, just something could be improved or suggest to others be careful: 1. The mattress seems too old, both me and my bf feels metal ring touching bones during sleep, not really comfortable to have good sleep. 2. There are not many restaurants around though its a hot tourism place. Many dessert and souvenir shops. We dont eat sweet things, therefore, it was hard for us. We end up buying a lot from Lawson. 3. The room is a little bit too dry, if they could add a simple humidifier would be better.

Room Tip: Prepare enough food from supermarket around, check mattress.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4415
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a family room.

It had all the amenities we needed, washing machine and the clothes could be dried in the bathroom. The room itself was HUGE and there was a computer/tv.

Location wise it is a stones throw away from the historical neighbourhoods close to kiyomizudera.

There is a bus stop nearby but we walked to and from Kyoto station which was a brisk 20 - 30 minute walk

As it is fully equipped (except for utensils, which have to be hired) it is handy having Fresco nearby (2 branches), Family Mart and also a Lawson 100 to service all your food needs.

We self checked in after 5 pm but had no trouble following the emailed instructions. Staff were friendly when we had dealing with them otherwise the property was nice and quiet.

The only downside would be that it was far from the city centre walking wise but as there is a bus pass available and the city is well connected in this way, it wouldn't be a problem.

Staying close to the old historical district meant that I was able to take some really nice night pictures of the old streets like ninenzaka which was a real bonus.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Good bits:
Computer in room
WiFi works
Clean
Check in procedure worked as emailed (secret numbers and locked boxes, no people)

Bad Bits:
Bed is awful. No mattress, you sleep (if u can) on springs. Worst bed I ever (not) slept in
No TV, it's the computer monitor at the side of the bed. Unwatchable position
No international TV channels at all
Absolutely no plates, utensils, glasses, dishes or any form of kitchen attribute other than a gas hob and microwave
No windows, unless you want to look at a solid concrete wall 3 inches away and covering the entire window
2 then micro pillows. Any normal human will leave here with severe neck problems
No international power adaptors
If you arrive after 5PM your're on your own !

In short, way overpriced and the 5 star reviews must be either fake of 'paid for'. Either that or the people that wrote them normally live in a tent.

Room Tip: You can get better cheaper !
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights. What a nice room we had, equipped with kitchen, wash machine, 2 doors refrigerator, and even a tv in your bathtub and a set of desktop pc inside your room. Staffs was very very nice, they let us to check in earlier at 09.00 am and was such a help for us since we just arrived in Kyoto by an overnight bus from Tokyo and was not sleeping well on board. Room was clean & spacious, convenience location, just a walking distance to Kiyomizudera temple, a stone's throw away to bus stop let us explore Kyoto city easily, as city bus is the main transportation. Kyoto Station is only 10 minute by bus.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Julius _
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews