We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,188)
Filter reviews
2,188 results
Traveller rating
859
1,033
224
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
1,033
224
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationnishiki marketwalking distancekarasuma oiketop floorminute walkjapanese standardsstayed here for nightssmall roomcentral locationhotel lobbymanga museumlocation is greatgreen teabuffet breakfastaround the cornerbus stop
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,188 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

This is a really good hotel! Service is flawless, the breakfast is amazing, and the location is great. The food market and a fun shopping mall is just 5 mins away by foot. Several streets close by have restaurants, cafés, small shops and more. The spa on the top floor (13th) is quite small, but cheap and very relaxing. I would also really recommend renting a bike, and spending a day cycling in the city!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
We are very pleased that you have compliments such as service, breakfast etc.
In the vicinity of our hotel there are various markets such as Nishiki market, restaurants, shrines and temples.
In the place about 20 minutes on foot from the hotel, there is a Kamogawa river, and walking around the riverbed etc, I think that it is perfect for the current season.
All of our staff are waiting for you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Unlike many Japanese 3-Star hotels, Hotel Monterey Kyoto had really good service. I approached the concierge for dinner reservations. I told her I wanted to taste the different types of Japanese cuisine and she booked a restaurant for every evening I stayed in Kyoto. She even made me a file with all the dates, restaurant names and maps of how to get there. Location of the hotel is also very good - on a main thoroughfare and near subway stations, shops and restaurants. Nikishi Market is a short walk away. Rooms are a little small and furniture is worn but bathrooms are a very good size.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you for being at Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
Thank you for your compliments to the service of the staff.
Also, we would be pleased if you could stay at Hotel Monterey Kyoto when you come to Kyoto.
In that case, I think that you can also help traveling by all means.
In Kyoto, the views of shrines and temples will change every season.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

I would probably rate this more like a 3.7, just because we had a smelly pillow, and I tend to grade harshly when it comes to cleanliness-- but I'm feeling more generous today.
We stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel has a really pretty lobby (and looked like they had a lot of weddings in the attached chapel) and was very easy to get to from the train station by subway. It was also a reasonable walk to Nishiki Market. The room itself was pretty big, and nicely decorated, which was a nice change from Tokyo. Other than the pillow, it was clean. It was surprisingly inexpensive for what we got, so I would recommend this to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share with your experiences.
We glad to hear that you had good stay and enjoyed sightseeing in kyoto,
And also your appreciation to us and services.

However, we are very sorry to made you uncomfortable with smelling pillow.
We must have checked.
We will share with us and house keepers not to let that happen again.

We will keep on improving our service for customo's satisfaction.
We will happy to welcome you back if your next stay will be us in your next journey to kyoto.

Sincerely yours,
Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Very nicely looking hotel lobby and english speaking staff. Tourist informations at the reception witch was a big help. Rooms are not as small as in other hotels i've stayed in Japan, clean and nicely equipped. Good breakfast.
On the other hand we had a very bad experience at the Japanese restaurant! When seated we looked at the menu that look over priced (but i could leave with that) the selection was just very small, so we have decided to have beer first and order in a while what ever they have to offer. But after 5min staff tell us to order instantly or leave, so we did so. It was quite harsh and rude. We literally had one sip of beer each and we had to leave?! Just to add the restaurant was half empty.

We got massage too. In general was nice, but the lady was tiny and absolutely no strength in her, if i can recommend please use massage places in town as it will be 3 time cheeper.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lukasz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

3mins walk from Karasuma Oike subway station makes it very convenient. The in-house onsen charge of 1770 yen per person was reasonable. Room was “spacious” for Japanese standards and it was very comfortable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank ronrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write your experience.
We are located in the center of Kyoto city, allowing our guests to explore many of Kyoto's highlights.
The hotspring"Onsen" is our selling point, so we are pleased that you seemed to had a good time at onsen
and in the room.
We will make more effort to make your stay comfortable.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews