We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
178
60
12
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
60
12
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vertical garden the river walking distance room was decent size power plugs stunning bathroom only open for breakfast and lunch view bath major train keihan main line great location subway station separate toilet great restaurants and bars reception concierge garden room speak excellent
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I came to Kyoto for business, traveling alone. I absolutely loved my stay at this hotel. The location couldn't be better - close to metro, bus, and train stops, and near great restaurants and alley ways. Nishiki Market, Gion, and other great sites are walking distance. Everyone in the hotel speaks English and provided great recommendations for activities during my time off. The room was clean, huge shower, free tea and coffee in the room, and even slippers and pajamas to wear to the guest bath (which i unfortunately never visited). Highly recommend this hotel. Pictured is breakfast and a few spots right outside the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank tashasworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal810485, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Kyoto Premier Sanjo Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear natsad ,
Thank you for your 5 Stars. We hope to get to serve you again in the future.
Best regards 
IMAI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We LOVED Everything about this hotel: location, staff, accommodation and facilities. This is where you want to be! The location was in the heart of the nightlife and shopping area, and within walking distance of the Gion area, temples, and subway stations - no taxis needed. This is a newer, NON-SMOKING, Japanese hotel at a reasonable price. The staff was very helpful and some spoke English. The concierge spoke English very well. The room was very clean and reasonably spacious; and the shower pressure was divine! Although it was an interior room, we LOVED our first floor location with a vertical garden view.
The restaurant had a wonderful buffet for breakfast and lunch, which offered both Japanese and western favorites. It would have been nice to have a small bar or cafe to grab a coffee and pastry in the morning or stop by later for a drink and appetizer. The on-site restaurant is a buffet and its only open for breakfast and lunch. Nonetheless, there are coffee shops and bars in the immediate area if you are looking for a light breakfast or nightcap.
The bottom line was it offered the desired Japanese experience with some comforts of home in an ideal location.

Room tip: We loved our vertical garden view because it was calming, attractive, private, convenient & less expensive.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal810485, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Kyoto Premier Sanjo Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kathy E,
Thank you for your 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you in the future
Best regards 
IMAI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Rooms are small. If you have not researched this in advance it will be almost double the cost to change to a larger room when you arrive

We were on a longish trip And we had lots of luggage and the room we had was pitifully small
We stumbled over our suitcases there was no room for anything
It was 3 awkward days

Tiny wardrobe just too small

Upgrade to a bigger room and this hotel will be overpriced
There is no bar no restaurant (other then breakfast and lunch)
No room service
Mostly Japanese channels on the tv
Just international news channels.
No movies (even if you had to pay)

The spoken English at the reception/concierge is not great
They smile well but do not understand if something goes wrong

The decor is very Japanese. The reception is lovely cool but
The corridors are painted black and the air con is chilled to cold out there

The beds are comfortable and it is clean and the you have just about all you need. But..... ......nothing more
No mini bar. -just a vending machine in the basement
We felt this hotel just didn’t warrant its star rating

Good location for the subway

But for this price you could do better
And we would not return

Room tip: Check out room sizes. Bigger is better but a lot more expensive
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank frenchabroadFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal810485, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Kyoto Premier Sanjo Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear frenchabroadFrance,
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We are sincerely apologize if you were disappointed with size of your room and we could have found a better solution for you. Again we are apologize for inconvenience you experienced during your stay and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and hope to see you again near in the future.
Best regards,
IMAI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We enjoyed this hotel. It's in a great location along the river, walking distance to dozens of fantastic restaurants. Our room was very stylish with great art on the walls. Even though the room was a little smaller than our other rooms in Japan, it was very smartly organized so we felt very comfortable. We paid for the breakfast buffet which was outstanding. There was a great selection of both traditional Japanese breakfast items (yum!) as well as European and American breakfast items. I would return to this hotel and would recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal810485, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Kyoto Premier Sanjo Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear TravelSneak.
Thank you for your generous comment regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoy your stay. Our hotel is located in very convenience area and easy to access to restaurant, transportation and shopping area. Also walking distance to Gion and Pontcho area which you may able to feel traditional Kyoto atmosphere. We thank you again for your comment and hope to see you again.
Best regards
IMAI 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

When we stayed at the Solaria we were upgraded to a garden suite which was quite a bit larger than other hotels we had stayed at in Japan. It was a bit odd being in the basement but the outlook into the garden was a nice touch. The room was very nice and included a Nespresso machine which was a nice touch when you miss coffee. The hotel also includes its own public baths (separate male and female) which allows you to enjoy the Japanese bathing experience without a large crowd. The hotel is close to a number of public transport options (bus and train), and a short walk from the shopping and restaurant district. Overall a very pleasant stay

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T0ny_O1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal810485, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Kyoto Premier Sanjo Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review.
We are glad to hear that you liked the garden suite room and the Nespresso machine.
Also we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Kyoto.

When you visit Kyoto again, we hope that you will stay at our Hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you here someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews