We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
217
474
126
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
474
126
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic bathfamily martthe ground floorjapanese bathper daypleasant hotelrooms are smallday passten minute walkbus routesconvenience storeaverage hotelcoin laundryaround the cornerjapanese foodjapanese hotel roomscomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

On our last trip to Tokyo, we stayed with Mitsui garden for 8nights and it was awesome! This time, they made us feel at home once again. If ever you need a good hotel, this is the one. A little small but compact. They provide you with all the amenities that you need. So there is no need to worry! A few of the reception does speak english and they were very helpful to us during our trip.

There is a family mart right beside the hotel. It is very convenient. Bus stop right outside the hotel too. Pls check with the reception where does it lead to. Because we never took the bus there before. But we did take bus no 50 which is down a few blocks as you turn out to your right side from the hotel's entrance. This bus is very convenient to go around town and to the Kyoto station.

Kyoto is a must for mochi. Do try this! We ate many along our encounter. Visit the nishiki market for lots of food varities.. infact the whole kyoto is all about food, culture and shopping! We love this place so much. Unfortunately we did not manage to catch a real geisha at gion.

For moving around , either you use the icoca (prepaid card) or the visitor's day pass at 1200 yen per day. We got the 2 days pass at 2000yen.

Add info about hotel:
1. There's a public onsen pool.
2. Coin laundry
3. You can also purchase your travelling day pass at the lobby. Check out for the machine.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Flowerymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三井ガーデンホテル京都四条, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. We are pleased to hear that you have been satisfied with our services. Our hotel has many types of rooms from a compact room to a more spacious room. All the rooms are provided with a refrigerator, an electric kettle, a flat screen TV, air conditioning, an air purifier, a standard set of amenities and a bottle of mineral water. We hope our guests make a reservation according to their needs and preference. On the ground floor, we have 3 coin operated washing machines, the garden view public bath and massage chairs. We hope all the facilities provide our guests a comfortable time. Fortunately we are located in central Kyoto. It is easy for our guests to go to famous places by bus or on foot. It takes about 15 minutes to go to the Nishiki Market on foot. For the Kinkakuji Temple by bus it takes about 30 minutes. For the Kiyomizudera Temple it also takes about 30 minutes. At the reception, you can purchase the One Day Bus Pass and One Day Bus and Underground Pass from the vending machine. If you are looking for the 2 Day Tourist Pass, you can purchase it from the Shijo metro station. Utilizing these passes give our guests many advantages to sightseeing in Kyoto. We have prepared maps with tips of where to go in Kyoto. As you mentioned, it is important to travel for food in Kyoto as there are many different options for food. The variety is endless. We hope you have had a pleasure of experiencing a new taste. If you have questions about sightseeing, please come to the reception as it is open 24 hours a day. We are always glad to help our guests and continue creating the environment where you would feel warmly welcomed. Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

This is a very convenient and comfortable hotel, we enjoyed our stay and could walk to many of the attractions we wanted to see. We enjoyed the onsen and the staff were really helpful with good english.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebbieRHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三井ガーデンホテル京都四条, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. It is pleasant to hear you have enjoyed your stay here. Our hotel is located within walking distance from the downtown. Also you can go to many major tourist spots by bus. We believe from our hotel it is convenient to move around in Kyoto. At the reception we sell one day bus passes at the ticket vending machine. Also within walking distance, there are the Nijojo Castle, the Nishiki Market, and the lively district of Shijo and Kawaramachi. Now that the weather is much milder, you can easily extend your walk to the Gion district. After a long day of sightseeing, it is nice to have a dip in our garden view public bath, which is located on the ground floor. Although it is not supplied from hot spring, it is always wonderful to relax in a large bathtub. Thankfully it is well received amongst our guests. It is truly wonderful to find out that we have been able to provide you the services which you have found satisfactory and met your needs. We would like to continue doing so to create the environment where our guests would like to come back to. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Location is good, just a few minutes to the nearest subway station i.e. Shijo or Karasuma Station. A convenience store is located just around the corner and there is also a mini market that sell quite a lot of things at a very reasonable price (cheaper than convenience store). Nice and clean public bath on the ground floor. Room is a bit small as expected and price is reasonable. Would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YeowSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三井ガーデンホテル京都四条, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. We are pleased to know that you have had a comfortable stay here. We are fortunate to be located in central Kyoto, where the Shijo metro station and the Hankyu Karasuma station are nearby. If you reach Kyoto by Shinkansen, take a metro and it is only 2 stops from there. If you are coming from Osaka, taking a Hankyu Express from Umeda to Karasuma gives an easy access. The convenience store is almost next door to us. The 24 hour open supermarket is at the corner of street. There are many small interesting restaurants surrounding us. You would never have to worry about starving. Our garden view public bath is well received amongst our guests. Not that the weather is getting colder, it is certainly nice to feel the warmth from the inside by dipping yourself in the hot bathtub. Although it is unfortunate that you felt the room you stayed in was rather small, we have many room types on offer. If you would go for our Deluxe Double room, you would get the room with space of 25 sqm and the bed of 240x196 cm. We hope next time you would give it a try, as it is offered at a reasonable price depending on the season. It is wonderful to know that the environment we have created is something you would think of recommending it to your friends. We hope we will have a chance to welcome you all back in the near future. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Compact rooms, like most in Japan, with comfortable beds but limited storage. Public onsen available. Convenience store almost next door. Breakfast mainly Japanese and has a good variety. Staff helpful. About ten minute walk to nearest metro station. Bus stop very close.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank melanie823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Good hotel, albeit with very small rooms. Don't get it confused with the hotel of the same name but 'sanjo', as its part of a chain. Staff were friendly and breakfast was decent. Central location near a Starbucks and plenty of restaurants/bars/shops.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank sophia_n80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews