We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
217
476
126
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
476
126
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public bath family mart the ground floor japanese bath per day pleasant hotel rooms are small day pass ten minute walk bus routes convenience store average hotel coin laundry around the corner japanese food japanese hotel rooms comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Good hotel, albeit with very small rooms. Don't get it confused with the hotel of the same name but 'sanjo', as its part of a chain. Staff were friendly and breakfast was decent. Central location near a Starbucks and plenty of restaurants/bars/shops.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank sophia_n80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stayed in a triple room, it was slightly crammed but still had a generally nice atmosphere.
There's a public bath on the first floor for guests, which I didn't use.
Information centre near the entrance with helpful brochures. Apparently there's supposed to be a staff member there helping to answer questions but I didn't see anyone whenever I went in.

Directions:
Once out of Shijo station, just walk left on the main road all the way, past a busy bus stop, fruit stall, restaurant selling katsu sets with well-lit displays, until you see a family mart flag at a corner of a junction. Turn left and you should see the Family mart there, and the hotel is up ahead.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Voidlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Stayed for 2 nights. Overall pleasant stay with great hospitality.

Pro:
-Great location, Public bus station, Sub-way within 5 mins walk.
-Main Shijo / shopping area within 10 mins
-Clean, tidy room, comfy bed with good quality toilet amenities.
-Public bath at ground floor until 1am. You can experience traditional Japanese culture without going out.
-a Family mart is located next to the hotel lobby, so that you could grab quick bite in the morning or supper.
-cheap food and a super market (Fresco) nearby. You won't be bored at mid-night

Cons
-Room are small compares to other Mitsui hotels in Kyoto
-Public bath area is not clean , tidy enough maybe its busy even in the mid-night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alsace_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay in Kyoto this one is descent. The room was nothing special and a bit worn out. The hotel does have washing machines which is a plus and the hotel is situated in a good neighborhood with lots of restaurants and a 5 minute walk to the nearest station. Although if economy is not an issue I would look for a better hotel next time im visiting Kyoto.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Malte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三井ガーデンホテル京都四条, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. It is an honour to be here as a hotel now for almost 20 years. We have had changes and renovations from now and there in order to provide the best environment possible for our guests to stay comfortably. As a hotel in Kyoto, we try our best to create the atmosphere where you can feel this city in every sense while you are here, although the facilities such as the washing machines are kept to functionality. The lobby with the view of traditional garden, the public bath and the lobby attendant are all important parts of our effort. The coin operated washing machines are well received amongst the guests who are travelling long. The public bath is one of our features where you can relax and extend your legs in a large bathtub. We are fortunate to be in a residential part of town, yet the lively district of Shijo and Kawaramachi is close by. There are many interesting small restaurants surrounding us. Please never hesitate to ask directions at the reception, or just any questions in fact. We are always happy to help our guests. It is unfortunate that the value did not meet your expectation. Although the high season such as during the Gion Festival, it was inevitable to see the higher end of the price spectrum in Kyoto, we are happy to inform you that there are many affordable deals on the website throughout the year. In any case, we would like to keep on putting our effort to improve our services and facilities to meet your expectations. We hope you will return and check them out in the future. Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Great experience at Mitsui Garden! We explored Tokyo from here and the location was fantastic.

Recommend getting the subway pass when you stay here because it's right on the Tokyo metro Oedo and Fukutoshin lines. Very easy to get around as a result. Only a few minutes from Kabuki-Cho, Golden Gai, and Memory Lane (aka Piss Alley).

The room was small but that's normal for Japan in this price range. We are a couple and found it to be totally adequate. The shower and bathroom were great.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
三井ガーデンホテル京都四条, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for staying at a Mitusi Garden Hotel. Although we would be extremely pleased to hear your words of praise, we are afraid that you meant to write it for one of our Mitsui Garden Hotels in Tokyo. From the description you have written, pehaps you have meant for Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya. It is located close to the JR Yotsuya station and Metro Yotsuya station. From there, the areas of Shinjuku, Ginza and Akasaka are all easily accessible. On the other hand, we are located in the ancient city of Kyoto. Have you visited us during your trip to Japan? If not, we hope we can welcome you when you are here again next time. From where we are, the famous Nishiki Market and the Nijo-jo castle are all within walking distance. We look forward to your visit. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews