We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and charming place to stay”
Review of Chettinadu Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chettinadu Mansion
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

It's interesting to read reviews for Chettinadu Mansion, clearly it appeals to some people more than others and even those who like it do so for varying reasons. It's a wonderful heritage building that has been beautifully restored. The owner gave us a warm welcome and we found it an overall relaxing place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms are charming with enough mod cons to make our stay comfortable. The village is quiet and lovely in its own way. We walked through the village to the handloom weaving co-op where they make lovely cotton chettinad check cloth and bought several scarves as gifts. Our only criticism of Chettinadu Mansion is the food was not particularly inspiring, if they sorted that out it could be fabulous. It offers a different kind of experience to The Bangala.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmwmwmwmwmwmwmwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for promptly listing the features of Chettinadu Mansion and its location. This charming location is very unique in Tamil Nadu Itinerary which must be seen and felt.

The area of your concern was food which we have discussed with our chef and appropriate remedies has been taken.

We would also request you to share your Chettinadu experiences with your friends.

Regards

Anup Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2011

The mansion is to be experienced. The area itself is quiet, however the people are as warm here as in the rest of the south, and I met and spoke to several of them. Mr. A. Chandramouli and his charming wife joined me after dinner for coffee and a chat. He is an interesting man who obviously is very proud of his heritage and is working hard to preserve this home which belonged to his grandfather. Although the mansion itself is huge, only 12 rooms have been restored - eight in the main building and another four nearby (perhaps near the pool, which I didn't have time to visit). The food was superb!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrasserunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your views with us.

Your comments has made us proud which proves that chettiand hospitality is best.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards



Anup Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Only cold water in washhandbasin. Disgusting patio. Peeling paint. No Fridge, no safe , no TV and nothing else to do . Terrible food. 5mins walk to pool and not iviting once you get there.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JeanMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed here for a night. We were welcomed by the owner who was quite friendly. He gave us some brief introduction about the mansion and his family, which I guess is quite common among the "Chettiars" to do so. The food was good, no doubt since it's Chettinad food. What had impressed me the most here was, when I had requested that I wanted to taste their "paniyaram" which is the Chettinad's speciality, they told me that it isn't served here. The next day when I went for my breakfast, the waiter came to me with two types of the "paniyaram" which really impressed me. He said it was made just because I had requested for it and it is proper for them to not serve their speciality item. After breakfast we took a short walk around the village here before checking out. We had a nice stay at the mansion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pathfinder4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

A unique place to stay in a most unusual but interesting town. The manager is extremely friendly and helpful and is full of information on the history of the mansion and other houses in town. Only part of this property is in use as a hotel with the remainder still used as a family home.

Even if you are not staying here it is worth stopping for lunch (you will need to phone ahead and book).

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank catsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanadukathan
0.5 km away
Visalam
Visalam
#1 of 2 in Kanadukathan
235 reviews
8.6 km away
Hotel MVV Residency
Hotel MVV Residency
#4 of 5 in Karaikudi
3 reviews
9.6 km away
Bluebell Residency
Bluebell Residency
#3 of 5 in Karaikudi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
65 reviews
6.9 km away
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
#1 of 4 in Pudukkottai
197 reviews
3.9 km away
Saratha Vilas
Saratha Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kothamangalam
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chettinadu Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chettinadu Mansion

Address: 11 S A R M House Ar Street | behind Raja's Palace, Kanadukathan 630103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Sivaganga District > Kanadukathan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Price Range: ₹ 6,279 - ₹ 7,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chettinadu Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Chettinadu Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chettinadu Mansion Hotel Kanadukathan
Chettinadu Mansion Kanadukathan, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing