We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Chettinadu Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chettinadu Mansion
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The mansion is to be experienced. The area itself is quiet, however the people are as warm here as in the rest of the south, and I met and spoke to several of them. Mr. A. Chandramouli and his charming wife joined me after dinner for coffee and a chat. He is an interesting man who obviously is very proud of his heritage and is working hard to preserve this home which belonged to his grandfather. Although the mansion itself is huge, only 12 rooms have been restored - eight in the main building and another four nearby (perhaps near the pool, which I didn't have time to visit). The food was superb!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrasserunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your views with us.

Your comments has made us proud which proves that chettiand hospitality is best.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards



Anup Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

Only cold water in washhandbasin. Disgusting patio. Peeling paint. No Fridge, no safe , no TV and nothing else to do . Terrible food. 5mins walk to pool and not iviting once you get there.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JeanMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed here for a night. We were welcomed by the owner who was quite friendly. He gave us some brief introduction about the mansion and his family, which I guess is quite common among the "Chettiars" to do so. The food was good, no doubt since it's Chettinad food. What had impressed me the most here was, when I had requested that I wanted to taste their "paniyaram" which is the Chettinad's speciality, they told me that it isn't served here. The next day when I went for my breakfast, the waiter came to me with two types of the "paniyaram" which really impressed me. He said it was made just because I had requested for it and it is proper for them to not serve their speciality item. After breakfast we took a short walk around the village here before checking out. We had a nice stay at the mansion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pathfinder4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

A unique place to stay in a most unusual but interesting town. The manager is extremely friendly and helpful and is full of information on the history of the mansion and other houses in town. Only part of this property is in use as a hotel with the remainder still used as a family home.

Even if you are not staying here it is worth stopping for lunch (you will need to phone ahead and book).

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank catsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Chettinadu Mansion was built in 1902 till 1912 by Mr. Chandramouli’s grandfather and has about 100 rooms out of which 7 rooms are given for the guests. Entrance to his mansion is through a huge marriage hall with black and white Italian marbles, copper plated celing from England and the pillars of shining black marbles. The giant portraits of the Ancestors on the walls of this hall don’t go unnoticed. This hall is now converted for reception and dining purposes. On the either side of this hall is an identical dining area which reminds me of Bowling Alleys. One of them is now converted to museum and the other as a conference room. What really amazed me were the curtains to the huge windows. An old Chettinad sari was used as curtains but it still looked so elegant on those windows. After the marriage hall is first courtyard with iron pillars supporting the rooms on the first floor. Beautiful Athangudi tiles are seen in the inner courtyard floors.

All the 7 rooms are named after different persons in their family. We were given a room called 'Valli' which is supposed to be the best room available. It had a terrace, which gives a view of the other mansions surrounding. The hand painted wall inside the room looked like a tile and having a AC was just a bliss as the temperature was soaring. The bathroom was spacious and you will not miss observing a stool with a designed tile embedded in it. This royal home stay was restored by Mr. Chandramouli after his retirement. We got to meet his daughter Solai who is temporarily looking after the mansion as he is out of country. She was very friendly and gave us an overview of the mansion and has her own blog on Chettinad cookery (solaiachiskitchen.blogspot.com). We took her permission to see the remaining portion of the mansion where the access to guests is limited.

Food : They serve Chettinad cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I really felt they should have included more cuisines in breakfast and lunch as they charge exorbitantly high (Rs 500 for lunch per person).

Booking: They have their website and the staff is very friendly. Surprisingly they did not ask for an advance payment.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sahana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanadukathan
0.5 km away
Visalam
Visalam
#1 of 2 in Kanadukathan
233 reviews
8.6 km away
Hotel MVV Residency
Hotel MVV Residency
#5 of 5 in Karaikudi
3 reviews
9.6 km away
Bluebell Residency
Bluebell Residency
#3 of 5 in Karaikudi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
#1 of 4 in Pudukkottai
195 reviews
0.3 km away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
65 reviews
3.9 km away
Saratha Vilas
Saratha Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kothamangalam
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chettinadu Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chettinadu Mansion

Address: 11 S A R M House Ar Street | behind Raja's Palace, Kanadukathan 630103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Sivaganga District > Kanadukathan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Price Range: ₹ 5,668 - ₹ 7,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chettinadu Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Chettinadu Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chettinadu Mansion Hotel Kanadukathan
Chettinadu Mansion Kanadukathan, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing