We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Happy”
Villa & Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa & Swimming pool
Colonial Style Villa Colonial style villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Villa & Swimming pool
Colonial Style Villa
Colonial style villa
Dining veranda
Fully equipped kitchen
The master bedroom
The master bathroom
Twin beds
Shower and dressing room
Twin bedroom
Modern bathrooms
Upstairs landing
View on top of the hill towards Weligama Bay
Front of the house
Side view of the house
Swimming pool
Garden & Ponds
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Uwe S
2 reviews
“Very Happy”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Siri Wedamadura for Christmas and New Year. The house and grounds are remarkable. Recently fully renovated, the house feels light and has neither more nor less than necessary for a very comfortable and truly relaxing stay. Modernization has been handled with great care for creating a fantastic mix of quality traditional and contemporary elements. Even though we were eight people, including 4 children, there was always enough space to either gather or to retreat. There are roofed over terraces front and back as well as a pool pavillon. Pool and grounds are beautifully kept, with three gardeners, keeping nature in check nicely. As much of the 5 acres are steep hill, the grounds feel even bigger than that. They also offer fantastic sea views from the top. Staff also includes a night watch, chef and housekeeper. All are efficient, friendly and unobtrusive. Our chef was a delight, and very responsive to our requests, be that Sri Lankan food (spicy to order) or a Christmas Turkey. There is plenty to see near and far – we surely need to come back to Sri Lanka to see Kandy and some of the nature reserves. House staff will help with local transport and excursions. Mirissa, although clearly a tourist destination, is a traditional village. The mixture works well. The excellent beach is 5 mins walk away and was never too crowded. We have rarely had a more convivial new year than this one on Mirissa beach. Surfing, at Mirissa, or the nearby Welligama, is the most popular activity, waves are ideal; sailing and diving are also available nearby. Entering the property from the quiet village road outside, we felt like coming “home” – We felt truly sorry leaving this wonderful house and wholeheartedly recommend spending time at Siri Wedamadura.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Having to chose between the pool and the beach.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDRESAW...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were there in the off-season but it couldn't have been better. The entire staff treated us like royalty and best friends. That's a combination hard to find. Once in a lifetime that I'd like to have again. Ask Angelo the chef to cook lobster. You won't be disappointed. A quiet, private oasis in heaven.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tkatchenk...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in February 2013

I spent an idyllic break here with friends and children, and it has to rate as one of the best holidays I have ever had.
Delightful fully restored old colonial house set in some 5 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens inhabited by wandering peacocks and mischievous monkeys in the trees. The rooms in the house are light, airy, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated/furnished with all modern amenities.
All the staff were friendly, most helpful and great with children. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, for example one of the gardeners climbed up a palm tree just to retrieve fresh coconuts for us.
The sea is safe for swimming or surfing and only a short walk away. If you prefer I am told that a large swimming pool has now been installed at the house.
Mirissa beach is long and palm fringed with charming beach bars, where you can just have a drink or sit down for a full meal - the locally caught fish dishes are highly recommended.
If you want to explore further afield we thoroughly enjoyed a visit to the old colonial town of Galle nearby, rides on a tuk tuk, and a whale watching trip.
A real get away from it all location - can't wait to return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineO...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true sanctuary - absolutely breath taking”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The place is just stunning. I stayed at the beautiful home twice within 2 months, once while on business with colleagues, once with a group of girlfriends and our children. Both times I had an absolutely amazing time. The house is a perfect place to retire to after an exhausting day of meetings. You get pampered by the personal and your eye gets spoiled wherever you look - a true sanctuary. The chef goes to markets early in the morning and buys fresh food for you to have the dinner of your choice in the evening. Fresh fruit is available all day around. The pool is very pleasant and the beach is a 5 min walk around the corner! And your clothes get washed so that you don't need to bring along much.
The children loved all the space in the garden, the monkeys, the exotic birds around. They could pick between pool, beach, volleyball or cricket with the garden boys, and loved going on short sightseeing trips via tuck tuck and on boats (e.g. whale watching). The bedrooms in the house are all en-suite and the design is simple but gorgeous, generous in space.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of a sanctuary
Liked least: I wish it was closer to Europe!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bezumak
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Do not lose the possibility to gothere”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in February 2013

Last winter my family visited the wonderful Siriwedamadura villa in Sri Lanka. We were very surprised to find out an excellent holiday location. The villa is well equipped and managed to host visitors from all over the world on cold and cloudy end-of-winter months. Gracious decor of the house, gorgeous garden, nice and well trained housekeeping and chef, sunny weather and blue sky made our holiday unforgettable and pleasant. Immediate vicinity to the ocean, refreshing pool and outdoor activities left our children happy and fit for a long time ahead. Thank you very much for a warm and charming holiday. Looking forward to getting back there. Kraynyukova Katia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and the atmosphere
Liked least: humidity
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing