We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience at Daisy Lanka”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Daisy Lanka

34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa Daisy Lanka at Twilight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa
Daisy Lanka at Twilight
The Sala/Lounge
The indoor Sala/Lounging area
The dining area indoors
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Kitchen
Master Bedrooms
Master Bedroom - Super king size
The Private Dressing Room off the Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
The Green Room - King Size Bedroom
The Green Ensuite
The Twin Bedroom
The Orange Room - Twin beds... 6ft 6in long
The Twin Bathroom
The garden and swimming pool
The grounds at Daisy Lanka
The Ambalama
The dining area under the Ambalama
The outside lounging and dining area in the Ambalama
Rear Ambalama with additional seating
Rear Ambalama
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Slewtasau...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at Daisy Lanka”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at Daisy Lanka for 1 week in April. From the initial booking, Tracey and Andy were great at keeping in contact and answering any queries we had. The handbook they provided before we travelled was also very helpful. They arranged transport from the airport which was waiting for us as soon as we had arrived. The travel time was about 3 hours, and the new motorway was great.

We arrived quite early in the morning, and had a very warm welcome from all the staff at Daisy Lanka. They all went out of their way to help us feel at home.
Chathu went through some possible excursions the first day we arrived. She was very knowledgeable about the local area. Probhoda helped us plan our food for the first few days, then went and bought everything we would need. My husband and friend accompanied him so they could see the markets first hand, which was great. All the food cooked by Probhoda was of an excellent standard. He was able to cook basic food for my non-spice loving children (though I would recommend taking some pesto and pasta / other basics along as they are hard to get hold of in Sri Lanka. Breakfasts were great, we usually had local sri lankan food alongside waffles and toast.

Some of the excursions and events organised by Chathu included:
- whale watching (an amazing experience!)
- turtle hatchery / sanctuary
- temple visit, then walk to see wild monkeys
- day trip to Galle
- Bentota river safari
- fab performance / storytelling using masks, performed by local villagers and led by Gamini.

Mahesh was very helpful, making sure we always had drinks, snacks and that the children were happy. Gamini and Hashan were on hand to take us out in the tuk tuk when needed. They also pointed out local features of interest and were very friendly.

The accommodation is superb - the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. We had no problem with mosquitos due to the mosquito nets in each bedroom. The gardens are very well kept and the pool is fabulous. The ambalama is a fantastic place to cool down on a hot day, it suited our needs very well as our two young children wanted to be outside all day, and this meant they were out of direct sunlight. During the evenings it was a great place to have a drink and a chat with friends.

There is quite a lot to do in the local area. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk away and the village is a really interesting place to wander around. The locals are very friendly and Mirissa itself is laid back and relaxing. The children loved spending time on the beach, though watch out as there is a strong pull in even shallow water. Food on the beach is basic and of very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so relaxing - we hardly lifted a finger all week!
Liked least: The humidity and insects - I can't fault any part of Daisy Lanka itself.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Gaining acces was a bit hit and miss at times and we felt a bell of some sort would help
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Awesome full time chef, 5 min walk to the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley B
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“5* Villa in an unspoilt location”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Andy and Tracy's beautiful villa feels like home as soon as you arrive, even when you get there late at night as we did. Their attention to detail, from comfortable beds with lovely cotton linen to cold beers in the fridge meant that this was ta fabulously relaxing stay for ALL of us (aged 60 to 6yrs).

Having staff was a novelty that we found hard to adjust to, but only for the first 24 hours. After that Praboda, Mahesh and Chathu became integral to our holiday. They played football and volleyball with the children, gave us fabulous advice as to best places to visit locally (eg Whale watching), arranged transport and prepared the most amazing meals (some days breakfast lunch and dinner! ) Fresh fruit and waffles for breakfast, chicken and mango salad for lunch and a sri-lankan curries f (you MUST try the runner bean curry) for dinner. The children didn't miss out either with plenty of child friendly options available.

The pool area is delightful with wildlife visiting most days. we saw monitor lizards, king fishes, eagles, and fireflies along with ever present Chipmunk like cane squirrels. The beach IS a five minute walk even for 6 year olds and provides great sunsets and cold beers aplenty at the numerous beach bars. The food here is reasonably priced but lacked the appeal of Praboda's food at home so we tended to eat at the villa.

The owners, Andy and Tracy, have been incredibly helpful and answered numerous emails promptly and in detail. This from changing money and arranging visas to selecting the food for our first meal, stocking the fridge with beers and soft drinks to advising on mosquito repellant (Autan). This really helped ease us into holiday mode.

All in all a great place and a great holiday. Thank you team Daisy Lanka

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sri Lankan hospitality and the local wildlife
Liked least: Sri Lankan driving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Reviewed 6 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and spaciousness of the property, attentive and professional service of the staff.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Mar 2013
Many thanks Kevin, we are glad that you had such a great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing