We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its not bad place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinu's Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dinu's Resort
Ranked #135 of 181 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“its not bad place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I can only tell my opinion from what other peoples what they wrote in here,its Not bad place.Only you cant sleep in there becouse of disco From water Creatures and Baymoon Restaurant,I was there this year to look the Rooms in Dinus Guest Hause stayed one night.The rooms is basic but expensive. the surfers would love to stay in Dinu place. becouse of the Surfing Point.The Renu can cook good food.Sure there lot of locals comming to the Dinu place, but This young Boys dont harm to Nobody.Its sure if you want book Rooms in Sri lanka Anywhere then you must tell exactly arriving time.otherweis they dont belive tourist lot of time.or you have to pay for advance.same all over the world. Dinus Guest Hause has almost 8 Rooms with bathrooms.its expensive becouse of the Sea view. and the surfing point.its not verry bad place.i was there and checked the Rooms and the Menu fair preise same like other places.valuble things you have to give to the owner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    10
    16
    35
See reviews for
10
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

stayed there nov 2010 overnight with my partner -got the top floor sea facing room-great view- room was quite clean with nice double bed. -they have got a lovely restaurant with great cooking-priced well-friendly people-the beach is about 20 feet away-so there-
mirissa is a pretty expensive place beach side-food will cost u-there is one pizza place that is packed with tourists-they even ran out of dough-dinus has a more authentic feel-imo

Room Tip: get the seaview deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

All the rooms are filthy dirty. Only some of the fans work properly. Even the family who own and run the place throw their rubbish around. The kitchen is unbelievably filthy. Whilst there we noticed that Dinu, the manager seems to give different prices to clients according to his estimation of their wealth. Had some money stolen and heard of another couple who also had money stolen from their locked room. Further investigation revealed that their prices were too high for such conditions in comparison to many other places in the area which were clean and comfortable. As a female staying there with my husband I felt most uncomfortable with the manager's sleazy looks as well as from the many male friends coming in and out of the resort.
We heard from other's staying there that before they were leaving Dinu the manager asked them to leave many items of value from their personal luggage for him. He then tried the same with us telling us he and his family were so poor.
the place and the atmosphere there is disgusting.

Room Tip: Go to Club Mirissa, lovely place, lovely respectable family, clean, safe and secure at very reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We booked four nights a couple of months in advance and paid a deposit. When we arrived - admittedly after dark but this was largely because it was badly signposted and very hard to find - Dinus had sold our rooms to other guests and told us we should be grateful that he had kept the overflow rooms for us - horrible, dirty, damp concrete bungalows absolute full of mosquitos, with no way of getting rid of them as the bathroom had no roof. Our room clearly hadn't been cleaned since the previous guests.
I actually picked up Dengue Fever in Sri Lanka and wouldn't be surprised if it was from here. No discount was offfered for the switch of rooms.
Dinu also had a very odd manner, touching the girls in our group, and making us feel generally uncomfortable.
As the area was popular, it was very difficult to find other accomodation but we decided we would rather split up our group than stay another night at Dinus. Please do NOT book here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneInLondonStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

I totally agree with the reviews below, it's the worst hotel in Mirissa. Unfortunately all other places we checked were fully booked, or only had a room for 1 night, and since we definitely wanted to stay in Mirissa and didn't want to change every day, we took the (only) room available at Dinu's.
It's dirty, damp, sticky, the sheets and towels are old and thin, the room key didn't work from inside, there's no hot water, the bathroom was constantly clogged, i had to ask countless times for 3 days to get it unclogged, there's garbage all around the building etc etc there's actually almost nothing good I could say.
Worst of all, we negotiated with Dinu a taxi to bring us to the airport, he was supposed to pick-us up at midnight and bring us on time for our morning flight. When he didn't show up until 1,30 AM we started really to panic, as we had another connecting flight later and basically we were totally screwed if we missed our flight. Dinu was nowhere to be found and his mother wouldn't open the door of her room until we asked some locals passing by to tell her we're their hotel guests and we have a BIG problem. Then fortunately things were quickly sorted, but it really was a terrible moment for us.
One good thing I can say is that the whale watching tour he arranged for us we paid cheaper than other people (6000) and we had really good guides always spotting the right place, not that this is Dinu's merit...
If we ever go back to Mirissa, which is a great place in a not so great country, I'll definitely arrange a booking at Mirissa Palace in advance, we went there to have a look and it's awesome (but with a very limited number of rooms...)
Bottom line, do not stay at Dinu's unless you absolutely have no other choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nakuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.1 km away
Coral Beach Guesthouse
Coral Beach Guesthouse
#80 of 181 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Sea View
Villa Sea View
#113 of 181 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 km away
The Point Mirissa
The Point Mirissa
#55 of 181 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pearl Mirissa
Pearl Mirissa
#24 of 135 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 km away
Sun Rest Mirissa
Sun Rest Mirissa
#66 of 181 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 km away
Surf Sea Breeze
Surf Sea Breeze
#28 of 135 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinu's Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinu's Resort

Property: Dinu's Resort
Address: Coparamulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,824 - ₹ 2,280
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dinu's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimus Resort is family owned and operated since 2004. They give personal service in a family friendly environment. Located right at the surf point, the guesthouse rents surfboards and snorkel gear. All room have balconies and mosquito nets, and rooms range from budget accommodations to a second floor bungalow. The home cooking here is some of the best in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dinu's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinu`s Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing