We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Saraceno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Il Saraceno
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My son and I stumbled upon this hotel during a recent visit to cinque terre. What a find! Modern, minimalist, wonderfully accommodating hosts. Antonella is a sweetheart, so helpful, friendly, and willing to share her tips for the area. Her restaurant suggestion was fabulous, and we had a delicious dinner that we will not soon forget. Comfortable beds, wonderful views, garage parking...what a wonderful hotel. I hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwayshonest39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    63
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
108
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Il Saraceno is a small B&B in Volastra, high above Manarola in the CInque Terre. The room was lovely with an excellent bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was perfect before we started out in the morning.

What a view from Volastra bus stop down to the sea! Vineyards everywhere, terraced down the hills. The bus is a great option into Manarola and back at the end of your day. Volastra has an authentic Italian restaurant for a meal in the evening. The patio or lounge at Il Saraceno makes a good spot to visit and have a drink before bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Luis, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I've been in this hotel in September 2010. Great place with a quiet neighborhood, very clean,decent breakfast and the hospitality of Antonella, one of the owners of the hotel.
I would stay there in a next visit to cinque terre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Despegar

Helpful?
Thank renato f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were 3 couples travelling together and this hotel was a great place to visiit Cinque Terre. Antonella was a great hostess that helped with directions and hints for our walks to Corniglia and Manorola. Hotel has only 5 rooms and is very quiet. Car parking was available and we were able to leave the car there when we walked down to visit Cinque Terre. Local bus saved us the walk back up the hill to return to Saraceno! Antonella gave us great directions so it was easy to find.

Room Tip: Very clean, quiet, small room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a little place (4-5 rooms) but with a very big heart and incredible hospitality by it's owner, Antonella.

It is located above Cinque Terre but local transportation goes up and the down the road many times daily thus eliminating your need to park in Cinque Terre which can be expensive if you don't know where to look.

Antonella's personal service was great as she made us quite comfortable from the moment we arrived with some fresh espresso and cappuccino.

Her breakfast in the morning had a flavorful variety with yogurts, fresh juice, fresh croissants, fruit and more.

At night she tends the small bar and delivers you drinks (reasonably priced) which in the summer heat were a welcome treat.

The rooms are small but very efficient and since you are visiting the area the time spent in them is marginal anyway. Ours had a nice balcony with a table and a set of chairs to relax on when we wanted.

Overall, the Saraceno made our trip to Cinque Terre all the better as it was away from the tourist crowds in the towns as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms on the second floor as they are toward the back of the hotel and were r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jedco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volastra
0.1 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.0 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Saraceno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Saraceno

Property: Hotel Il Saraceno
Address: Via Volastra 8 | Cinque Terre National Park, 19017 Volastra, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Volastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volastra
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,058 - ₹ 10,114
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Saraceno 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Il Saraceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Volastra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing