We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect the world ”
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Attended with friends for a treat... and a treat you'll get! That is of course if you like your spa experiences peppered with sopping wet towels, dirty floors and cramped facilities.

Of course it's a given if you're going to attend a spa in conjunction with a hotel then expect the facilities to be used by hotel guests too. If you're hoping for any sort of exclusivity with your spa experience at mottram hall I'd consider better ways to spend your money.... look for strictly spas.

Arrived on time, reception were welcoming enough and were given a briefing for the day with spa robes and slippers... however was also informed that "unfortunately a lot of the lockers aren't working so you'll have to look around".... not a good first impression but at least they were honest.

Changed after finding a working locker and headed to the pool earlier. 10:30am and all beds were occupied/reserved with towels and a lot of kids running around and diving in. Absolutely no problem with kids but if I've paid to relax it's difficult when you're sitting amongst a crèche. With the added gym users and spa / hotel guests there wasn't anywhere we could really relax. Also THE POOL IS FREEZING and at most waist deep.

Paint work looked tired and neglected and just didn't feel like a high end spa like you'd expect to be reflected in the price you pay.
Outdoor jacuzzi was lovely (when we finally got a turn) as the sun was out...however noticed that there were several broken outdoor beds.

Managed to pop up for a 'light lunch' provided with the package.
I emphasise the word LIGHT.
Soup cold meats and and bread are on offer with some sort of pasta.
Staff at the grill restaurant were extremely pleasant and we didn't have to wait for our drinks order long.

Our spa treatments were good but the girls Diaries are clearly packed out. One therapist had her coat on ready to go home but was still seeing to a guest at the spa reception? Doesn't scream professional.
My facial felt rough and rushed and I've had a lot of spa facials but I sensed the staff were under a lot of pressure that day.

I will say I had to pop to the main reception at the end of the day and they were most helpful.

I felt so disappointed that I couldn't write a better review for this hotel as in terms of value for money this really falls short. I've more than likely been spoilt with my other spa experiences and this has been underwhelming in comparison.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 1,91,086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello 191086

Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor

I'll be sure to feed all of your observations back to the relevant members of our Head of Department team, and am sure that they will find your comments useful in improving our operation.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and improve your opinion on a future visit to Mottram Hall.

Kind regards

Deridre Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for the spa stay deal, which included a one hour treatment each, use of all gym, pool, sauna etc. Also had £28 per person towards evening meal, which was enough for us to have 3 courses each! Drinks not included. The food was very nice, staff were very friendly and efficient, overall lovely experience. Only downside was our room was quite warm during the night needed the window open and got quite a lot of noise from staff and bottles being put in bins, so not the best nights sleep. We were in room 278, so beware of noise!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jammy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello Jammy28

Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Mottram Hall, but disappointed to learn that you encountered disturbance in the early hours.

I do hope this does not detract you from returning as we look forward to welcoming you back at sometime in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards

Deirdre Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

An amazing hotel!

Had a wonderful time, booked a spa package deal as a birthday surprise. The hotel staff couldn't be more kind and helpful...room was beautifully decorated with birthday balloon and sweets. Upon arrival at the spa free birthday glass of fizz. All staff friendly and helpful wishing my partner a happy birthday throughout the whole stay.

Can highly recommend The Carrington Grill. Food was of a very high standard and tasted fantastic (see photos). Take time to have a drink in the champagne bar, staff friendly and helpful, offering great knowledge of the hotel and of course the drinks!!

Breakfast was great. All freshly prepared, lots of food on offer and paper promptly provided. Fresh tea and coffee available and topped up regularly.

A wonderful spa day followed with treatments. Facilities are of a high standard with a lovely pool area. Very quiet and relaxing, especially the outdoor jacuzzi.

If you have time take a walk around the beautiful gardens and grounds.

Overall a fantastic stay, we will certainly be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fethon_whittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello fethon_whittingham

Thank you for taking the time to post your amazing review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you and your Partner enjoyed your Mottram Hall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Deirdre Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I arrived not really not really knowing what to expect, I arrived at my room which had bee upgraded to the Terrance Suite and it was great, very large and a small patio outside (just a shame in the Autumn rain.) I went to the Claret Jug for lunch and it was OK but the menu is no very big but that was OK for me and the golf course is great. I also used the swimming pool which was very nice and clean as well. The breakfast was also amazing just missing black pudding but aside from that it was amazing. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Boys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello Boys R

Thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review, I am grateful for your constructive feedback and will certainly address the points you have raised.
Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at sometime in teh future.
Kind regards
Deirdre Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for one night back in 2015, which was a variable experience. This time, it was very different. I had a large room and my request to have a fridge brought into the room was accommodated, which really helped me out.
The b d was large and comfortable so a good night's sleep and seating/working area in the room was spacious.
Hotel facilities are good with a spa/swimming pool and gym.
Breakfast has a good choice as well.

Also, reception staff was really welcoming and helpful to any requests.

Definitely a good place to stay in the middle of the Cheshire countryside.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello Jens L

Thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review, I am delighted to hear your visit was so much better that a couple of years ago.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again at sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Deirdre Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
29.6 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,229 reviews
5.8 km away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
26.6 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.3 km away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
384 reviews
19.1 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range: ₹ 7,642 - ₹ 17,687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing