We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite getaway”
Review of Ambraden Pond

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobble Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambraden Pond
Ranked #2 of 5 Cobble Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Right from when we pulled into the wooded driveway, winding down to the house and opening onto the private pond.. we knew this would be a special place!
We felt genuinely and warmly welcomed, and right at home at Ambraden, thanks to Joan and Lulu (Chris was away during our stay). The breakfasts were stunning and lovingly made (and delicious, of course!). The food, the hospitality, the furnishings, the bed and linens, the set up of the house – it all felt just right. Laid back, not too fancy or the least bit stuffy, everything thoughtfully considered and beautifully presented.
If we had to choose just one highlight, for us, it was the grounds, and the daily swimming and relaxing by the pond at sundown, with a cold glass of cider, in good company, after a day of exploring Cobble Hill surroundings.

We will never forget our time here. Thank you, Joan! We were privileged to get to celebrate our 3rd Anniversary with you in your home.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bevc_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

This review is long overdue. My husband and I stayed at Ambraden Pond during our anniversary last October. It was my first experience at a B&B, so I wasn't sure what to expect (I really value my privacy and I was admittedly a little nervous about staying in someone's house). However, from the moment we arrived, I felt relaxed and welcomed. Joan sat down with us to share some wine, and we had a great conversation. She recommended an awesome dinner spot and we settled into our room. The room itself was clean, modern and private with a large bathroom and comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious, and we were able to spend some time wandering around the property, which was lovely and tranquil. Our interactions with Joan and Chris (and the other guests) were nothing short of pleasant and we both left feeling as if we had gotten a steal of a deal on the room. Thank you to the hosts for the beautiful accomodations and warm, friendly hospitality! We hope to return soon. (Brian and Kimberly from Seattle)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

we spent two nights with Joan and Chris and we were treated like Kings.
They welcomed us with a glass of wine, they sat down with us and told us where to go, where to eat and what to do during our stay in the area.
Our daughter N was happy to goon walks with Chris and Lulu around the pond and she was told all the little secrets of this charming place.
We will definitely go back because the accommodation is top notch, the breakfast was delicious and the hosts super warm and friendly.
I highly recommend this B&B to people looking for a serene peaceful place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _lailamunif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We have stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and this is one of my absolute favourites, and here's why. The natural setting is gorgeous. The main living room has large windows that look over the pond. One can sit and look at the heron across the pond, watch eagles soaring by, or just enjoy the beautiful trees. There are a number of places to sit or walk outside to take in nature. (Yes, there is a pond, which means at certain times of the year, you will hear the frogs at night- we loved it. It is part of nature). The interior of the house is modern, and beautifully peaceful. Breakfasts are generous, creative, and delicious. The last and most important feature is Joan and Chris. They are truly genuine in their warm, welcoming personalities. Joan was also extremely helpful in phoning restaurants to book reservations for us. She seems to know everyone on the island! A thoroughly wonderful experience and we will be back!

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank allergydoc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed the night on the way to visit my daughter's friend at Shawnigan Lake School. Super friendly hosts and their dog, comfortable stay and delicious breakfast topped by snowfall and a frozen lake--a big treat for my California girl. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ambraden Pond? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambraden Pond

Address: 971 Aros Rd, Cobble Hill, British Columbia V0R 1L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cobble Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cobble Hill
Price Range: ₹ 7,689 - ₹ 11,533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing